Keeping things simple

in Sketchbook2 years ago (edited)

Loads of color is normally my "go to" when it comes to expression. For me, there is just something about successfully combined colors which sets my soul alight. Although, having said that, the things which I create are mostly guided by emotion and mood and for whatever reason, yesterday I was feeling drawn to doing something a little more crisp and bold... and black and white.

Screenshot_20220828-153321_Clip Studio.jpg

A simple composition in many ways, but I suppose in others, not so much. Allowing my intuition to guide me through the creative process, instead of allowing my mind to dictate, is something I have had to learn over the years. It can be very easy to be swayed by your internal voice and sometimes that is not a very good thing, well at least for me anyway.

Illustration191_copy_2275x2275.png

So I let go, trusted the process and even though the brain had a go at me, saying things like "this is too plain, add some color" or "this is boring", I ignored it all and carried on with what I was doing and without trying to sound arrogant, I do have to say that regardless of its simplicity, I am actually really pleased with how this piece turned out.

I guess you could say that in some ways, doing something a lot more simple and less colorful, like this, was actually my own gentle way of pushing myself out of my own comfort zone, trying something new and dipping my toes into different territory.

As artists, I think it is quite easy to become stuck in your own loop of preference. Actually, thinking about that, I think that is probably the case with most of us in general life too. we find a way of doing something, a method or route which makes us feel comfortable and then we keep doing that.

I know that sometimes I am quite resistant to change and it takes quite a lot of convincing to get me to try something new. maybe this is me attempting to do that to myself for a change.

I also think it is good practice not to be too critical of ourselves when it comes to creative expression. After all, it is suppose to be an act of release, perhaps even healing and allowing the process to just "flow" is really important if we want to grow the proverbial "creative seed".

I would love to know what you think about this piece. Does it speak to you on any level? Below is the finished illustration.

See you all again soon!

ELLA <3

Illustration_1A (1).png

Sort:  

Congratulations @exploringella! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You distributed more than 10 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 50 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Day - September 1st 2022
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!