The puffin's dinner

in Sketchbook2 years ago

I continue to paint realistic watercolors depicting nature. This time I’m introducing a northern bird that looks funny but flies and swims great. Puffins live on the rocky shores of the North Sea. I haven’t seen it live yet, but I hope it happens one day. The puffin fishes so skillfully that it can hold more small fish in its beak.

I painted the watercolor based on a free Pxfuel picture. I modified the background a bit and also painted the orange leg of the bird, although it is obscured in the original picture.

Step-by-step process

I sketched the bird with the rock and the horizon line.

20220109_173138.jpg

20220109_173156.jpg

The first layer of the sky was cerulean blue.

20220109_173649.jpg

Then it turned to dramatic with Payne grey.

20220109_174516.jpg

Continued with the rock: golden ocher, Payne gray, sepia, burnt sienna

20220109_174925.jpg

The back feathers were painted with Payne grey and black.

20220109_204323.jpg

I primed the bird’s belly with a little dilute payne gray, and on top of that I put a little orange-red mixture on her belly as the light from the bird’s foot shines there.
The fluffy feathers were highlighted with white tempera.

20220110_085133.jpg

20220110_085141.jpg

20220110_085201.jpg

Sort:  

I love it, I have a soft spot for these puffins :)
My daughter used to watch the cartoon puffin rock and I thought it was such a nice one, with a calming voice telling the story instead of some of these horrific cartoons with way too much screaming in them.

I love how you painted it, very nice!

Thank you! I love them, they are so adorable. I haven't heard of that cartoon but i hope i'll find it. It's very important to not let children watch violent cartoons or films.

Yes very adorable! If you have Netflix here they are .. it copied Hungarian though. Does it automatically but you can just change settings so should be good :)

No, i have no Netflix and don't watch TV since decades. I prefer reading and listening to music or lectures about spirituality, science, history, philosophy. When my son was a little boy, we watched some classical cartoons together, like Nils Holgerson. Then the 3D computer animation came and there was no magic in it any more.

Well, I get that though. Netflix is the only thing we have here, for the rest no normal tv connection for years. Oh Nils Holgerson I've watched that as a child as well :)
I agree on your judgement about cartoons from back then and now. That's why I can't stand a lot of these cartoons, only the sound that add is often horrible.

Well, I've found some pictures of the cartoon Puffin Rock. It has glamorous figures, they are simple and very easy to accommodate. It is similar in style to the Czech cartoon series Little Mole.

Had to look that one up, didn't know it. But yes, the Puffins are nice. I also like the Irish? narrator.

Cada detalle de tu dibujo quedo genial y bastante realista, me encanto mucho. ¡Gracias por compartir tu contenido con nosotros!☺️

¡Muchas gracias, me alegro de que te haya gustado!

Very beautiful painting. I like the adaptations you made of the original photo, by changing the color of the background the puffin stands out well in the image. Great job!

Thank you! I almost always modify something on the picture. Painting is very different from photography, simple copying from a photo does not always achieve the right effect.

For sure, it is always a good idea to make adaptations of the original model and add your own touch! 😉

Manually curated by EwkaW from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Thank you for sharing this amazing post on HIVE!
  • Your content got selected by our fellow curator @rezoanulvibes & you just received a little thank you via an upvote from our non-profit curation initiative!

  • You will be featured in one of our recurring curation compilations and on our pinterest boards! Both are aiming to offer you a stage to widen your audience within and outside of the DIY scene of hive.

Join the official DIYHub community on HIVE and show us more of your amazing work and feel free to connect with us and other DIYers via our discord server: https://discord.gg/mY5uCfQ !

If you want to support our goal to motivate other DIY/art/music/homesteading/... creators just delegate to us and earn 100% of your curation rewards!

Stay creative & hive on!

I love puffins, they always make me think of Nova Scotia and northern coastal maine. Funny birds but of course I'm partial to sea birds well done @fairyberry

Thank you! Birds are adorable and very good theme to paint. I will tell you that I often get inspiration from your work as well.