Power (Ink Drawing)

in Sketchbook4 years ago

9qk6rq.jpg
Hello Everyone.
I'd like to share this pen drawing of a roaring lion I did earlier today. This ferocious mammal isn't the tallest smartest, fastest or biggest animal in the wild, but it's presence represents power and its roar causes alot of commotion in the wild. I made this drawing to study furs and detailing in lions. Although I'm still working towards perfection, I think patience and paying attention to details is of utmost importance in creating awesome drawings of wildlife subjects.

I used a black ball point pen and pelican paper for this drawing and here are my steps;
Firstly, I drew the outline of the lion's face with it's mouth exposing its teeth. I also drew the pattern of fur flow in this stage.
73tlms.jpg

Next, I began shading and adding details to its face.
gqgy1w.jpg

Afterwards, I proceeded to shading and adding fur details to its mane
n6f486.jpg

Finally, I shaded and added details to the remaining parts of it's face until I got an appealing result.

9qk6rq.jpg
Thank you for reading and viewing my drawing. Enjoy the rest of your day.

Sort:  

I agree with you, patience is always a must, when drawing. Especially in your case, you can't erase the black pen. I like how you captured the lion's emotion !

This is pretty cool bro. Very beautiful.

Thank you so much brother

This post earned a total payout of 8.126$ and 4.063$ worth of author reward that was liquified using @likwid.
Learn more.