Graffiti Sketch - MESH

in Sketchbook2 years ago

mesh.png

After my recent attempt at doing a hybrid sketch, I came to the conclusion that I needed to use different software for my artwork experiments. So after a bit of Presearching I came across a free software called Krita. It looks quite powerful for a free tool and after a bit of messing about I came up with this piece, entitled MESH. I'm taking it one step at a time, so this is still done with a mouse, no fancy drawing tablet (yet).

The main reason I wanted to move on from my old pal MS Paint after all these years was that I had a desire to work with layers. Here's a simple gradient background that I used as a backdrop:

background.png

Next up the piece. I don't know where these words come from, most of the time they're not that important, I just like how the letters fight for place on the canvas. I think of my style as organised chaos. The letters are free to roam as long as they stick to a general overlaying structure.

mesh_outline.png

Next up I added a sort of wall element behind the letters. The great thing with layers is that it allows you to experiment with the order and it was fun to see how they blended and impacted each other:

depth_yellow.png

depth_orange.png

To top it off, I added a snowy element and signed it off with a colourful tag.

mesh.png

So that's my first quick sketch in Krita. How do you like it? I still have lots to learn in this program but it looks fun. Have you played around with Krita yet?

That's it for today's art. On to the next one soon enough.

Over and out.

Sort:  

I have heard of Krita, but haven't used it yet. For some reason, MS Paint is always kind of fun, though. Nice work

Thanks for your comment. I like Paint too, I think an artist can do great things when their tool set is restricted.

Definitely, it forces us to wring out the creative possibilities more. Less is more, or something like that. But like you said, layers. 😅