In Memory of Munggi

in Sketchbook10 months ago

Hello everyone!

I'd like to share this drawing with you. I'm not really good at it though. I only draw when I can't find anything to write about. I draw when I can't find the words to express whatever emotion I'm feeling.

So, I used to have a cat. I called him Munggi. He was a stray cat who was lost. I found him in our garden, and I adopted him. Since then, he had been my best friend. For some inexplicable reason, introverts, like me, are drawn to cats the most.

We've been together for a while since 2018... but last year he died, so I drew this. I was really disheartened because I wasn't by his side when he passed away.

(I can't draw a cat, so I just used a representation. The rug doll thing represents the color of my cat, but my feeling and I symbolize the doll itself.)

IMG_20221127_074448.jpg

I blamed myself because I wasn't able to look after him. I wasn't able to go home frequently to check on him because I have to work miles away from home. My brother who looked after him would call me, telling me Munggi wasn't eating unlike before. Whenever I got the chance to go home, he seemed to be thinner every time. He would cling to me as if he was telling me to stay.

The news of his death broke me one morning. I couldn't go to work cuz I felt emotionally drained, so I drew this to vent out the pain. The left side of this heart depicts the wounds I have to patch to appear whole again.

IMG_20221130_221104.jpg

For several days, I sulked and mourned his death. But then, I realized life must go on. Having Munggi was also a wonderful part of my life I will always cherish, so I decided to add colorful flowers on the right side to remind me of the beautiful memories Munggi and I had.

IMG_20230124_201802.jpg

It took me several days to finish my drawing. The headphones on the heart represent my love for music, which had been my escape from the loneliness I felt and am still feeling now because of losing my Munggi. In my heart, he will remain till my last breath.

Sort:  

😐😊🌈 yea.. I never lived with a cat before, but last year my daughter adopted one.. I am pretty fond of seeing him and even occasionally interacting with him. Pets can be such cherished companions..

Thank you for boosting my post.
Cats are loveable. They're not a energetic as dogs, but they're cool pets too.
Pets are therapy for humans. That's why I was really hurt when my cat died.

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @chinito.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more