Abstract Zodiacs!

in Sketchbook8 months ago

20230917_113524.jpg

Hi Hiveians! I've been looking through some old art supplies that I haven't been using so much in my closet, found some nice 38 x 25.5 cm watercolor canvases and watercolor pencils. Let's put those to use in a nice way today! :)

A nice friend that now doesn't live where I am anymore, sent some watercolor pencils that she had but wanted to send them to me because I might get more use out of them than she would hehe. 😅 Not gonna mention any names, but thanks to her that this illustration would be possible. :)

20230912_130314.jpg

At first I didn't quite know what watercolor pencils were, hence the name; they look like normal colored pencils. When you apply water to the tip or on the canvas after use, they give the effect of watercolor! So I'm trying them here...

20230920_103622.jpg

Of course, I've tested them on paper before actually making art with them. This artwork is zodiac themed, my sister is quite into zodiacs, studying the different personalities and so on for fun. Can you guess my zodiac? They are known to be stubborn when they have to, but are brave..

I'm an Aries! ♈️

Process:

This artwork is kind of like a tape painting, I will be applying tape to the canvas, making a space for each zodiac which all get a theme, then peel off the tape! 😊:

20230912_142845.jpg

{Water applied with a brush❤️}

20230912_144313.jpg

20230913_124021.jpg

If you are wondering why I added 13 zodiacs, believe it or not, I heard there is actually a 13th zodiac out there if we look at the lunar calendar instead of the gregorian, which makes space for 13 months. The 13th zodiac is the top orange one, known as an "Ophiuchus" which represents a "snake bearer" according to wiki.

I think it does look cooler with 13. 😄 It kinda does look like two legs and the squiggly line for the snake...
Although I have tried before to find my actual birthday on the lunar, but lost where I wrote it down.. that is another rabbit hole lol. 😂
Ya' learn something new every day!

Thank you for viewing my post, what zodiac are you? I'm happy to see and hear your opinions in the comments below! I hope you enjoyed it and enjoy the rest of your day.

hr.png

Please like, share and comment below, let's make this world a better place! 😄😄😄

beetoons-sig.png

Sort:  

After looking at your post, I looked it up and found out that I am a Pisces! I also heard that Pisces are the nicest zodiac. Cool! I mean awwe yes, that is so lovely to hear.