Caena - Digital art with process [ENG/ESP]

in Sketchbook2 years ago

7.jpg

Caena — Having been raised as a lonely child by her authoritative grandmother, Caena is a shy and reserved twelve-year-old girl. She doesn’t have any friends for she rarely ever gets allowed outside the house. “Friends are useless”, her grandmother often says while she stands close to the piano where Caena sits staring longingly through the window at the children running outside. “You shouldn’t waste your time on them, my dear. Now play the last part again.” And so Caena does. She closes her eyes and plays the notes over and over until her fingers hurt. Not a single day goes by without Caena playing the piano. It is, after all, what she was born to do. Caena plays the piano so much she dreams about it at night. She dreams of burning the piano, burning the house, and of burning her grandmother with it.

Caena - Criada como hija única por su abuela autoritaria, Caena es una niña de doce años tímida y reservada. No tiene amigos, ya que rara vez se le permite salir de casa. "Los amigos no sirven para nada", su abuela le dice a menudo parada junto al piano donde donde Caena se sienta mirando con nostalgia a través de la ventana a los niños jugando fuera. "No deberías perder el tiempo con ellos, querida. Ahora toca de nuevo la última parte." Y así lo hace Caena. Cierra los ojos y toca las notas una y otra vez hasta que le duelen los dedos. No pasa un solo día sin que Caena toque el piano. Al fin y al cabo, es para lo que ha nacido. Caena toca tanto el piano que sueña con él por las noches. Sueña con quemar el piano, quemar la casa y quemar a su abuela con ellos.

*****

¡Hola a todos! Soy Mia y este es mi primer post en Sketchbook. Si alguien quiere saber un poquito más sobre mí, acá está mi presentación en Hive. Ahora pasemos al proceso de creación de Caena.

[Hello everyone! I'm Mia and this is my first post on Sketchbook. If anyone wants to know a little bit more about me, here is my introduction to Hive. Now let's move on to Caena's creation process.]

PASO 1: El Boceto. Las lineas son un desastre porque tengo una Genius i405X vieja que se traba cuando trato de hacer curvas. Pero es mejor que trabajar con un mouse, así que... 🤣. En fin. Para el boceto pruebo diferentes cosas, hago y deshago la cara hasta que me gusta como queda. Luego lo limpio un poco y listo, estoy lista para pintar.

[STEP 1: The Sketch. The lines are a mess because I have an old Genius i405X that gets 'stuck' when I try to make curves. But it's better than working with a mouse, so... 🤣 Anyway, for the sketch I try different things, drawing the face over and over until I like how it looks. Then I clean the sketch up and that's it, it's ready to paint.]

1.jpg

PASO 2: Empiezo pintando la cara con un color base oscuro. Luego pinto luces y sombras con baja opacidad sobre la base como para tener una idea general de cómo se va a ver el rostro.

[STEP 2: I start by painting the face with a dark base color. Then I paint soft highlights and shadows with low opacity on top of it to get a feel of the face.]

2.jpg

3.jpg

PASO 3: Ahora que ya tengo una idea general de la cara, es hora de añadir colores. Empiezo con los más oscuros primero, luego los tonos medios, y finalmente pinto los colores más claros encima. Una vez que tengo todos los colores en su sitio, empiezo a mezclar. Pintar y mezclar, pintar y mezclar.

[STEP 3: Now that I have a general idea of the face, it's time to add more colors. I start with the dark colors first, then I add the midtones, and finally I paint the lightest colors on top. Once I have all my colors in place, I start mixing them up. Painting and mixing, painting and mixing.]

4.jpg

PASO 4: ¡Es la hora del pelo! Odio pintar pelo, pero hay que hacerlo 😤. Comienzo con un color oscuro de base y luego pinto por encima algunas lineas más claras con baja opacidad para darle forma.

[ STEP 4: It's time for the hair! I hate painting hair btw, but it has to be done 😤. I begin with a dark base color and on top of it I paint some lighter lines with low opacity to give it shape.]

5.jpg

PASO 5: y ahora ya tiene ojos! Continuo pintando y mezclando. Con el pelo repito el mismo proceso que en el paso anterior. Pinto lineas con colores claros y oscuros para darle mejor forma.

[ STEP 5: and now she has eyes! I continue painting and mixing. With the hair, I repeat the same process as in the previous step. I paint lines with light and dark colors to give the hair more shape]

6.jpg

PASO 5 y final: No se habla del pelo, no,no ♫ ♫ Igual quedó mejor de lo que esperaba. Para el pelo lo que hago es pintar lineas con un pincel de entre 1 y 6 px, variando el tamaño cuando lo necesito. Empiezo con lineas blancas, aplicó desenfoque gauseano, bajo la opacidad a la capa y en otra capa repito lo mismo con otro color. Eso lo hago varias veces con diferentes tonos. Para la piel usé la herramienta dedo para darle una apariencia más suave. Intenté darle textura pero fracasé. Se veía muy feo así lo eliminé. Por último con color blanco y mi amada pluma le di brillo a la cara y a algunas mechas del pelo. Luego moví las curvas y la saturación y listo. Terminado.

[STEP 5 and final: We don't talk about the hair, no, no ♫ ♫ it looks better than what I thought it would look lik tho. For the hair I paint lines with a hard brush between 1 and 6px, changing the size as needed. I start with white lines, then I apply a gaussian blur and lower the opacity of the layer. Next, I add another layer and repeat the same steps with a different color and so on. For the skin, I use the smudge tool to give it a softer look. I tried to add some texture to make it look more realistic but I failed. It looked awful so I just erased everything lol. Finally, with white color and my beloved pen tool, I add some highlights to the face and hair. Then I play a little with curves and saturation and that's it. Finished.]

7.jpg

Para las pestañas usé un pincel que descargué de Redheadstock

For the eyelashes i used a brush I downloaded from Redheadstock

Pasó 6 extra: Crear una historia corta para el personaje.

[Step 6 extra: Create a short background story for the character.]

Bueno gente, si han llegado hasta el final, muchas gracias por leer y espero que les haya gustado. Estoy muy nerviosa por publicar aquí porque nunca he publicado mi trabajo en ningún otro sitio ya que soy muy insegura. Ahora mismo, mientras escribo esto, estoy pensando en publicarlo otro día porque tal vez necesito revisar las cosas de nuevo, como por ejemplo el pelo, tal vez debería arreglarlo, etc. Pero sé que si no publico ahora, no lo haré nunca.

[Okay everyone, if you made it here to the end, thank you so much for reading and I hope you liked it. I'm so nervous about posting here because I've never posted my work anywhere else since I'm insecure af. Right now, while I'm writing this, I'm thinking of posting it another day because maybe I need to check things again, like maybe I should work more on the hair, etc. But I know if I don't do it now, I won't do it ever.]

Creo que eso es todo...

[I think that's all. Sorry for my English, is not the best but I hope it was clear enough for you to understand what I was trying to say]

Nos vemos cuando tenga suficientes créditos para publicar de nuevo. Igual voy a estar por aquí votando. También quiero empezar a comentar en los posts que me gustan y empezar a seguir a algunas personas pero, los créditos... 'llora en la falta de creditos'

[See you around when I have enough credits to post again. I will be here voting, tho. I also wanna start commenting on some posts I really like and I wanna start following people but, credits... 'cries in credit poverty']

***

Sort:  

😍

Beautiful work! And the story really brought her to life too

Congratulations @ksin1nc6v6! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You distributed more than 50 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 100 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Hi Mia!

First of all, welcome to the hive family. I hope you have a great time here.

Your drawing, painting technique and writing are truly outstanding. It was a work that fully reflects the little girl in the story. Very nice..

Thank you so much!

🖐️😜😉😎✌️👌😁😏💖👈👍🤗😍

img_0.5581559408269909.jpg

Very clean work.

Este es un dibujo realmente precioso, adoro la expresión melancólica y cansada de la niña, va muy bien con la historia narrada al principio del post, sus ojos son hipnotizantes y me gusta mucho la paleta de colores que usaste.

Muchísimas gracias!

Thank you for sharing this amazing post on HIVE!
  • Your content got selected by our fellow curator @kaerpediem & you just received a little thank you via an upvote from our non-profit curation initiative!

  • You will be featured in one of our recurring curation compilations and on our pinterest boards! Both are aiming to offer you a stage to widen your audience within and outside of the DIY scene of hive.

Join the official DIYHub community on HIVE and show us more of your amazing work and feel free to connect with us and other DIYers via our discord server: https://discord.gg/mY5uCfQ !

If you want to support our goal to motivate other DIY/art/music/homesteading/... creators just delegate to us and earn 100% of your curation rewards!

Stay creative & hive on!

Her desire and intention escalated quickly! What monster the grandmother had made. I wonder if it will happen or of she will just run away to live get life in a few years.

Se ve muy enigmática. Me intriga la historia.
¿Es un proyecto tuyo a futuro?

Hola, muchas gracias. No, no es un proyecto a futuro. Tal vez incluya la historia de Caena en alguno de los libros que tengo planeado escribir, pero más de eso no creo.