Basic materials for painting

in Sketchbooklast year (edited)

Hello, hivers!

Since I found myself far from home I should find almost all materials for drawing or painting from the very beginning. And it was important not to spend too much money for them.

Fortunately, I have ipad for digitals and pencils, pens for sketching.

And it’s exactly the time for me to come back to oil painting. Upper you can see samples of the colours which I bought first.
It was a basic set of Italian brend Lukas Berlin:

  1. Titanium white
  2. Cadmium yellow
  3. Yellow ochre
  4. Alizarin crimson
  5. Viridian (phtalo)
  6. Ultramarine

And I took more expensive brends for trying, which are

  1. Schminke Norma Blue’s azurblau and
  2. Rembrandt Cobra’s burnt umber.

As you can see they are all watermixable oils, and only titanium white of them is toxic, but next time I will buy it from another brend. In Ukraine, unfortunately, I could only find watermixables of Rembrandt’s Cobra, but studying quality, not professional.
And they are really all important basic colours, which I can mix to get almost any color I want. Upper you can see how bright and glossy they can look. I have already finished my first painting and only wait for it to be framed to show you.
But my second work is about rainy day and though it’s still in progress I managed also to make it look sad and gloomy.

And though oils are the most exciting part for shopping, here you can see other important materials.

  1. A set of different brushes. It’s better to buy synthetic brushes for watermixables since they do not keep water.
  2. Big portable planshet. I’m drawing at home and do not have extra place for easel, and every time I keep in mind that we will need to take it all home.
  3. Palette made of plexiglass. This is one more material I never saw in Ukraine. I can remove the remnants of oils with any napkin and quickly clean it. As well as hands.
  4. Paper for oils. I cannot show it right now, because I have not finished my lstest painting, but it’s big Fabriano Tela 42*56. It’s also important for me because of storage and transportation. I do not simply have a place for canvases. Though papers may be not same easy to sell, and not for same price as canvases.

And here is the sketch of my first work this year, sunflowers.

Thanks for attention. If you have any questions or have other views I would appreciate your comments.