Friday Quick Sketch

in Sketchbooklast year

Image-00045-xsw.jpg

The beautiful warm sunny weather is upon us, so staying indoors in the studio is not so appealing. Thus I was off to the park with sketchbook, pencils and reference in hand. It is wonderful to be able to work outdoors in weather like this.

So after finding a bench under the trees, I went over my notebook (the paper type), and then set to work with the sketch.

For today's sketch I was working from an image of a rather loose painting. The artist had already simplified the image so in some areas, the details were completely lost. I wasn't out to replace those details, but rather work within the loose interpretation of the image.

The portrait is from the 1800s, so again we have an example of men's crazy beard styles.

Expect more sketches from the open air studio in the coming months.

Leave a comment below, upvote and share if you like it.
More of my artwork can be found on my website. LeoPlaw.com
Wanting to have an original artwork, take a look at this list.
And if it takes your fancy, subscribe to my newsletter.
I'm available for lessons and mentoring.


Sort:  

Was gonna say that's quite the moustache, 1800s explains everything XD

not that there aren't people rocking the crazy facial hair these days

We have a way to go to match the crazy hair of the Victorian era.

I love the use of strokes in depicting this sketch !!! Looks really lovely friend

Thank you!

You're welcome friend

Keep up the incredible work and continue to amaze us with your extraordinary talent in portrait sketching...👍

Thank you! I will do. 😀