A lot of orange! Digital portrait

in Sketchbook2 years ago

Hello everyone, today is an orange day. How can it not be when I've painted with this bold color 😁?

img_0.8378570393447604.jpg
I think this color pallette is vibrant in a way to inspire happiness and cheer. This was painted as usual in sketchbook pro. I've been struggling to find faces that are really distinct on pinterest these days. There's so much beauty but I've been missing that look that makes me say 'this is it' or 'this is the face I want to use as a reference'. I like when a reference keeps me feverish with wonder as to how if be able to portray it in my own style, but lately I've been feeling like I've got to draw out that mystery and I don't think that's how I like to work.

Still, I've been able to create something even though I've not had that fever to create so I'm happy all the same.

For this one I started with a sketch and a muted background as you can see below.

img_0.4560124870161033.jpg
Then I began to fill in the base colors and also work on creating my areas of highlight and shadows

img_0.4206284176609377.jpg
Then I began to blend out with my art medium pencil brush

img_0.16285121938718103.jpg

img_0.8914744908228376.jpg
I noticed the right ear was off and needed fixing so I had to do that. But before doing that, I created a new layer and set the blend mode of that to 'glow' because it was looking quite black. So I drew the glasses

img_0.26020134916139037.jpg
I felt the need to change the background at this stage and so I did that as well

img_0.9421078106684309.jpg
At this stage I thought the hair needed changing. I don't know why I've been quite picky but I was and so I worked on that some more until I made it to this final piece

img_0.8378570393447604.jpg
That's it from me. Cheers🥂

Sort:  

Lol... This is spot on. It was fun to read through the process of doing this.

I think the numerous changes you made on different part of this is one of the things that makes you an artist who wants to always present her best work.

The hair though... The new one beats the former. Hehe.

Thanks for taking the time to read through ❤️. I never really know what my final piece would look like and that's why I find this whole process stimulating and enjoyable to pursue. Being flexible with the changes that occur is really helpful. Glad you liked it!