Digital Bakery

in Sketchbook3 years ago

Screenshot of my gallery on NFTshowroom

Hello Stranger! While I’ve been largely immobile for the past few months due to health issues and surgery, sitting on my ass did not prevent me from doing at least something. That something kept my mind occupied and away from crappiness. That something is digital cupcakes! xD Hey, don’t judge! If I can’t binge on real cupcakes, here’s cupcakes for your eyes at least! Yesterday I opened my digital bakery on NFTshowroom and took the first two out of the oven.

Screenshot from NFTshowroom

These cupcake series are a token of work on progress. Working on each of them has been meditative, chill, and a learning curve in the digital medium. There is no hidden meaning or special reason for their existence other than - It’s bright, colorful cute cupcake time! To me, they were a joy to create and I hope they bring joy to your eyes too!

Blueberry Cupcake - Digital painting, 2021

Blueberry one was my first test penguin. A digital remake of a cupcake I painted with watercolor a few years back. Back then I asked what’s in your cupcake? I am not entirely sure, but I think I did not answer the question myself in that post. So here it is. In my cupcake is a huge amount of curiosity, need for exploration and adventure, hunger for progress and perfection, love for creativity, quirkiness, and plants and nature, need for expressing what can’t be put into words, learning everything and from everything, and seeking a place that feels like home.

I think sadly not many of those who answered my question the years back are still around. But for those who are reading this now - what is in your cupcake today? What drives you? What are you putting out there for others to see of you? Also, what are the parts you are hiding? The ugly parts? That would be interesting to learn about as well. I guess for me it is the pain of being misunderstood or judged by those I care about the most and my inability to forgive them. I also think that I don’t hide my bad parts that much, they have helped me to survive. I don’t trust most people. I am very skeptical, pessimistic, I can be bitter and judgmental myself, and direct when I don’t like something or someone. In other words, I’m a spiky hedgehog most of the time, which does not help with understanding me part nor reflect the true me for most people either who are not invested in wanting to know me any better.

Anyway.. back to cupcakes.

Raspberry Cupcake - Digital painting, 2021

The Raspberry one was fun to witness unfold. The process seemed to flow with ease. I loved working on raspberries about as much as on blueberries. I feel like the berries made these cupcakes come alive. They gave them their spirit, their character.

I created the cupcakes using Clip Studio Paint Pro and I am getting more used to all the different features and tools available in this program. I used the Gouache brush the same as in Jellies because I love the feathery-looking brushstroke effect it has. I think it adds to the character and adds more texture to them as well.

What do you think?

More to come, until next time thank you for stopping by! ^^

Follow me on titter - https://twitter.com/ChainedGalaxy

Song of the day: Refused - New Noise

Sort:  

Hey stranger, good to see you around these parts, glad you found something to ease off the suffering. Wishing you good health as always.

what is in your cupcake today? What drives you? What are you putting out there for others to see of you? Also, what are the parts you are hiding? The ugly parts?

There are lots of ugly parts in my cupcake, the biggest being procrastination and fragile emotions. Luckily, I am constantly aware and keep them in view so they remain a work in progress.

Great to see you

Aww, that is so sweet of you @empress-eremmy! Thank you!

Yea, my ugly stops me from shining my brightest. Something I have to work with constantly as well. It still feels like a losing battle a lot though. My own defenses, my walls are the hardest to get over.

Great to see you as well! :)

That's a hard question. In my cupcake there is curiosity, knowledge, creativity and exploration, kindness and caring. There is also indifference and callousness, and a "what ev." Attitude. A mix bag, a walking contradiction of the self.

Nice digital artwork! I don't think I've ever eaten a blueberry or raspberry cupcake before 🤔, which is strange because they seem like they would be pretty obvious flavors really.

Someone once said that it is typical of me to ask all the hardest questions xD Not sure how true that is, but I find these questions have the most fascinating answers :) There are always things that keep each of us in balance it seems. There is no single person who is just great or terrible. So many facets.

Thank you so much! Perhaps, I should use my rusty cooking skills and try and recreate the digital cupcakes into actual cupcakes, that would be fun! With all the berries! ^^

That could be a fun experiment:)

These are so cute! I hope you feel better and that your recovery is going well🤗💐
In my cupcake I have: desire for freedom, rebellion, creativity, independence, commitment, discipline, love and empathy. The dark side... no cookies, but rather the tendecy to be critical and demanding, to not trust people, to not let go of the past and to demand very much from myself.

Thank you @creativemary! I am feeling a lot better and I am finally able to do some work at my garden too. So happy! Hopefully will share some more on that soon.

That sounds like an awesome cupcake even with the dark no cookies side! :) I wonder if the light side would shine so bright without the dark side?

It would definetely shine more, I work on it daily and I guess this kind of inner work never ends

In my cupcake, there is love for freedom, creativity, expression, and heartfelt truth. A pinch of pixie magic dust. A dash of tropical night's dream. Mixed well with reserved and seemingly somewhat aloof respect for all things in existence. Spiced with some unseeable willow root love that runs deep below the fabric of spacetime.


Hugs&Coffee,
~Josie~

That is one fun cupcake! Stay true to who you are! <3

Always! ^^ <3
Since I figured I have nothing to prove to anyone, I've stuck with my recipe. It's an acquired taste. But it's an NFT. xD

That is a rare thing to have. I somehow feel like I always have to prove something to everyone or that I am not good enough. It's lame, I know, but what to do about it?

Blueberries, Raspberries, ...
Song of the Grey:

The Cranberries - Zombie

Can't believe that she is gone, but what a legacy! Their music has been on my playlists forever now :)

Congratulations @m31! You received a personal badge!

Happy Hive Birthday! You are on the Hive blockchain for 4 years!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

 3 years ago  Reveal Comment

Hello sleepy kitty! Sweet dreams are made of these cupcakes! Hehe! ^^