Inktober 2021, Day 3: Vessel

in Sketchbook3 years ago

Vessel - Ink drawing, 21x16cm, 2021

Human creations can be clever pieces of engineering. At the same time, they can also be the next-level creepy. While I am not scared of being on boats, the thought of getting in the water next to one makes me shiver. I am not sure it is the correct term, but fear of man made things submerged in the water is called Submechanophobia. Yea, none of that, please!


That said, the day 3 prompt of Inktober was - vessel. A cargo vessel came to my mind. Yes, it is carrying only one, giant container! xD In other words, don’t expect geometry or physics to work with this one. Drawing man made structures and objects is not my forte. I gave it a try nonetheless since it is meant to be a challenge after all.

I decided that monochrome tones would fit nicely for this ghostly cargo vessel from my nightmares coming to hunt you. After a bunch of struggling with the pencil sketch, I was finally content with it. Luckily, the paper was not too damaged at that point either. I used a Pigma Brush Pen for line work. I think I have improved at handling it, as long as I don’t go too fast and line towards me instead of lining away from me. It is easier to control the brush that way.

To create the slightly rusty look of the corpus of this monstrosity, I used my trusted Jet black Diamine drawing ink. I used a lot more water in the lighter spots. The ink is diluting to the sides and gives a gray tint to the paper in the process and some fun patterns on the edges of the linework as well. I think it worked out just right for what I intended.

Overall, I am not too mad with the result despite my struggles with objects made by humans.

What are you up to these days?

Song of the day: The Birthday Massacre - One

Sort:  

Drawing man made structures and objects is not my forte. I gave it a try nonetheless since it is meant to be a challenge after all.

Despite your reservations, I think you did a really good job on this one. Good work being bold and pushing your limits! It's never a wrong decision. It's a cool and interesting choice to do one giant container, it gives it almost a cute sorta vibe, not sure how a container ship can be cute, that or it seems a bit like the inanimate version of a caricature or something. The details on the top really sell it I think, I'm not sure but it looks like comms equipment and maybe a little crane or something? I'm not an expert on cargo ships but I guess that's what I imagine would be up there :D

I am loving your Inktober entries so far! Keep them coming! I'm not even looking at the prompts; I want to be as surprised as possible about them :P

Aww thank you! Yea, the thought of just one giant container amused me, so entertained it and I am glad I did. It is almost like an exaggerated kids toy or something xD

I am trying my best to keep up with it, but damn, time just melts before my eyes and I barely manage to get stuff done. I am such a turtle about these things.

I have two days following your inktober drawings and I must say that it is fantastic to see how you draw something every day, I will wait for the next to see more,Successes (・ ∀ ・)

Thank you so much @reard!

Two things could possibly happen - either I become faster with my inking, photographing, writing and posting, or I will fail miserably. I would not want to fail so I will do my best to post every day as they are meant to be.

Thank you again for following this inking madness and I hope I will not disappoint you.

I know it’s not as colorful but I think this is your best one yet. The ink looks really good with the "metal" of the ship. Something similar with a rust effect would look really cool too.

Thank you @kryptik :) There is something about monochromes that is a bit magical. I enjoy it in photography too. I am glad I managed to achieve the metal look on this one. Goes with the creepy ship vibe I was going for there xD

fear of man made things submerged in the water

When you put it that way it sounds hilarious. So specific lol. Maybe drawing boats could be a sort of exposure therapy to your fear. You draw bigger and bigger boats and then one day you get on one 🛳 🚢

Nice drawing. I like your choice in boats.

xD Or large murals on the walls with disgustingly rusty boats? shivers Tell me, you would not feel a bit odd or terrified to be in water next to those monsters? Aaaaa! I don't likeeeee!

Thank you for your comment! They always brighten my day :)

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Thank you so much! Much appreciated! :)

Your vessel looks like an armored warship)

Hehe, yea, it is a bit on the chunky side. Maybe it is not sinkable xD


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the person sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Very interesting drawing of a vessel. This one has large containers placed on it.