I have no idea what my drawing style is.

in Sketchbook3 years ago

I have no idea what my drawing style is.

tropic.jpg

Throughout my life, I have tried tirelessly to figure out what my style is. When I found mariqueritas, I thought it was the definitive one but the curiosity to try new techniques and so on, caught up with me and that's why now I do what I do.
In a way today, like many other days, I feel a little lost because I don't know what my style is and I wonder if it is normal to have more than one. I have wanted to open commissions with Mariqueritas but with this style that emerged and that I am still working on, I have doubts.
Today I am cool, a little confused but cool because today again I tried something new and I want to keep working on it. I feel a little lost about my style but I'm fine, I'm anxious to know when will be the day when I will have something totally and completely defined.


The drawing - The process

Today I bring you after having passed so much time without drawing; something new.
As usual, I forgot to capture a part of the process but don't worry, I will continue explaining it.

t1.png

Well, I started this drawing about 5 times, changed poses, and I wasn't convinced at all and I was afraid to do this. I always think "I must be constant".

t2.png

After spending so much time without illustrating, I didn't know what to do, I didn't know what colors to wear, what clothes to put on her, or what hair would be her style.
I didn't have much inspiration, I don't know why things turned out this way.
Change a lot of colors. I painted and painted again, I opened and closed the eyes of this illustration about 3 times. I would like to know, illustrator friends, how do you feel about illustrating after you haven't done it for a long time?

t3.png

I started with some cleaner strokes and ended up with these more manual and handmade strokes, so to speak.


From here on I lost the process, I reach a point where I enter the illustration and I completely lose myself and the rest. So I will just explain.


After making the lines, start with the color.
I started by painting the skin and all brushes with a crayon effect.
Then I started with the pants, I decided that they were pants with gradient, they are jeans pants.
Once again I say that, after flat painting all the colors and making their gradients, I changed the colors several times, some things stayed the same.
I changed the hair color a little bit and definitely the color of the pants.

When I illustrate sometimes I don't have a plan, that's where the green and purple lights that illuminate this girl came from.

After that I got lost, I tried to capture about 5 times the shadows of each piece of clothing and another 5 times the shadows of the skin.
But here I am and the illustration is finished. I hope you like it.

tropic.jpg

portadas-01.jpg

Sort:  

I'm not sure what my style is either. For my webcomic, it's somewhere between Silver Age Marvel Comics and Classic Archie's. !LUV

They are great styles!