A LITTLE AMATEUR ART

in Sketchbooklast year


IMG_20230516_105544.jpg

Hello guys, today I will be sharing with you a fun project I have been working on for the past 2 days. This is not my usual kind of post but I have been waiting to do some art and the Leofinance zealy campaign presented an opportunity to do so

So one of the quests tasks participants to create artwork, which would be used for the incoming Leofinance NFTs. So if you are an artist, you might want to check this one out. There are awesome prizes to be won.


I decided to participate since I could draw--little. It's an old hobby I have long since abandoned. So it was a fun experience trying to draw something again.

I had to get get some drawing materials from the market. I could not find a sketch pad so I settled for one of my notepads at home.

The next step was trying to find something I could draw. I had the idea of using AI to generate the image I had in my head which was a red dragon towering over a lion from a volcano with lava in its mouth. The lion stands strong on the edge of the volcano, unperturbed by the giant beast. I don't think I would be able to draw that but my imagination was running wild. I later settled for this piece I found on the internet settled for this piece


IMG_20230516_083042.jpg

I did my basic prep i.e sharpened my pencils; draw a grid to guide my hands and eyes, and a sketch. Everything was going well until I realised I had made a mistake.


IMG_20230516_105544.jpg

There wasn't enough space to draw my lion. I had tried several attempts to redraw but all failed. I gave up after 3 hours because I was tired and my back hurt.

I decided to give it another shot today and it went better than yesterday, although I don't think my lion looks much like a lion. I was already too tired after another 2 hours of drawing so I just settled for what I had. Here is the final piece:


IMG_20230517_104329.jpg

I tried using my ink pen to trace of my piece but that did not work well

I want to keep practising how to draw again in my spare time for the fun of it. It just dawned on me recently that I have abandoned a lot of creative things I was once decent at and loved doing. I don't plan to be a Picasso but if drawing brings me so sort of joy then I will cultivate the habit of doing it a more.

That would be all for now guys. Cheers!

Sort:  

Not a bad one, bro. I can't even do something close to that.

Thanks bro. Thankfully we are getting points or the effort because this thing dey shame me 🫣

Congratulations @nonsowrites! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You made more than 11000 comments.
Your next target is to reach 12000 comments.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out our last posts:

LEO Power Up Day - May 15, 2023
The Hive Gamification Proposal
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

The satisfaction that comes from creative work is therapeutic, be it creative writing or art. Well done, practice makes perfect.
Have a wonderful day.

Thank you very much sof-su 🙃
I know I will get better over time.

This is what happens if we abandoned our pencil and pen for a really long time.
I bet you felt really disappointed when the book wasn't enough for the complete piece, that you had to start all over again on a new page another day.
But well, discipline was all you needed, I might have given up already if I was the one 💔😂
I hate unnecessary stress and frustration lol.
The art turned out quite okay.
Keep practicing like you said and you will pick up much better from where you stopped.

I bet you felt really disappointed when the book wasn't enough for the complete piece, that you had to start all over again on a new page another day

Lol I wanted to cry. I had been drawing for hours.

But well, discipline was all you needed, I might have given up already if I was the one 💔😂
I hate unnecessary stress and frustration lol

Sigh. I just need more practise. I will be doing that today and for the rest of the year.

That's good then. Wish you well

Thank you 🙃

Well done! Three hours is a lot of effort👍

lol hope you are not mocking me lizzy? I know it's off by a stretch but I was just too tired to continue.

Lol no way I'm mocking you. I'm always happy whenever someone else believes in themselves to decide that art is not about initial talent(can be) but more about practice and perseverance. This is a good step towards it 😊

Thank you for believing in me 🥹. You can also participate in the contest when you have the time.
https://zealy.io/c/leofinance-4960/invite/Al30BB3V8WeATx6vpubKT

There is a quest for artistes

Your drawing's amazing but I bet if you hadn't abandoned your 'hobby',it would have been better. I don't think I'd be able to draw that cause I did same too but we keep moving forward right?

Well, we can always go back to the things we love doing. I am actually interesting time in the things I love again.

You tried. It's a good attempt to Kickstart your drawing stuff again.

Thank you very much. Trying my best 🫣