Blender Modelling – Low Poly Character

in Sketchbook3 years ago

Being new to Blender, taking on a Character, simple and low poly was still a massive challenge for my second 3D Blender object. This was my 4th attempt, and I regret not taking screenshots of the previous attempts so you can see my progress. My first attempt turned out like a robot. On a scale of 1 to 10 in terms of human-looking, I think I would give it a 7. What would you give it?

low poly ch1.png

Between all attempts, this 3D model took me about 7 hours. Although the video tutorial was only 35 minutes. Not being an arty person, getting dimensions and sizes right is still way above me. Let along being new to Blender at the same time. You will find a link at the bottom of this post to the tutorial I watched.

low poly ch2.png

Starting with a cube, using the mirror modifier, and with a series of extrudes, loop cuts, scales, and rotates, the base character was created. I then added a subdivision modifier and use this to fine-tune the shape of everything by selecting different faces, vertices, and edges. Finally, shade smooth.

We can see from this side image the hands are very long, and the feet, well they are too short. What other improvements would you make to this?

The tutorial was a great tutorial. The course I am taking is good too, but it is basically essential training. Teaching me where things are and what they do. Personally, I feel I need a little more to practice the essentials than what is offered in the course. So, as I cover the content, I will be searching for more examples I can try out. I also think I need to learn some more basics of art and 3D, but that might come as I just practice more.

There are other methods of creating characters, which I will try next. But this was great to get the hang of basic modeling and I will for sure revisit this character when I learn about rigging.

If you would like to try this model, you can follow the YouTube tutorial here.

If you want to follow my Blender journey, then follow me

If you would like to support my Blender and Art learning Journey, I am willing to mint some of my work and sell you the NFT.

Sort:  

On a scale of 1 to 10 in terms of human-looking, I think I would give it a 7. What would you give it?

Considering/taking into account that you are new to Blender, and this is your 4th attempt, I would give it a good 8 or 9.

By the way, Blender has good physics simulation and animation capabilities. There are dozens of good short animation movies made by Blender. The most popular is probably Big Buck Bunny.

If you improve your Blender knowledge, maybe you will be interested in this side of the Blender too.

I give you some !PIZZA.

Pizza, yumm, I will need it while working on my next piece. I'm totally loving blender. It's a total change of pace for me. I am hoping to get to the physics simulation and animation capabilities so watch this space.

And thanks for the feedback, you rock

Very good, I also like to practice and learn Blender.

cool, I just followed you. Looking forward to seeing some of your work

Thanks, although I'm not an expert hehe

you just motivated me to use blender today great job

Did you give it a go? Its fun

PIZZA!
PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
@xplosive(4/10) tipped @paulag (x1)
Learn more at https://hive.pizza.

i would give your model a 30 over 10 cause my sorry ass cant do that