Monster scene made in Blender

in Sketchbooklast year

Its been ages since I posted so art here on Hive. Blender 3D art is something I got into over a year ago for a change in pace and something to do in my spare time.

I have tried AI art, however its is limited to my vocabulary and ability to express myself verbally. Blender on the other hand is limited by my skills and creativity.

And I am not so creative so this idea came from a YouTube tutorial. You can see below, different stages of my creation. First creating a monster like figure and adding some glowing eyes. This was done using basic shapes

I then added some street lighting to improve the scene and the mood.

Finally I added a character, looking up at the monster with a torch in his hand. This character was also created using basic shapes.

The images below are all stills, however my final render was animated with the camera circling the scene.

A couple of hours work went into this and I have to say, I am rather happy with the final output. Its my first piece of blender work in 2023. I didn't have much time the second half of 2022 to do any art so it was a nice break making this piece.

What do you think of this work? How would you improve it? What do you like or not like about it?

Do you think people are using tools like blende less and less now that AI art is so popular?

Picture1.png

Picture2.png

Picture3.png

Picture4.png

Picture5.png

Picture6.png

Picture7.png

Picture8.png

Picture9.png

Sort:  

I used to play with this sort of stuff years ago, but was never too good at it. How long did it take to render? When I did stuff on my Amiga I might have to leave it all night. Yours looks great.

Render only took a few minutes. There are loads of different render options now that make things run faster. Although I do also have a great laptop.

Wow. This is a really good job compared to what I’ve been seeing online. I’ve never tried it actually. So I don’t really know about the process.

its not an easy learning curve, I dont do real art, as in I am not able to draw, but I do like blender

It’s a very cool art too, and creative. I’m a sketch though but I love to see various aspects too


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @paulag ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Congratulations @paulag! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You distributed more than 87000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 88000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Our Hive Power Delegations to the January PUM Winners
Feedback from the February Hive Power Up Day
Hive Power Up Month Challenge - January 2023 Winners List
The Hive Gamification Proposal