Jesus Questioning the Doctors, Watercolor, 5x7

in Sketchbook10 months ago

While looking through old newspapers from the 1930's, I came across this illustration by Gustave Dore. He was a famous engraver, illustrator, and sculpter. During his life time, he produced over 100,000 sketches. He was a prolific artist who is forgotten by many people in todays age.

While looking at the illustration print of Gustave Dore famous engraving of Jesus Questioning the Doctors, I knew I had to try to add color. So, I grabbed my watercolors and went to work. I found it to be very good practice and challenging. I kinda messed things up with the coloring, but the experience was well worth it.

Going through old newspapers and looking at the old illustration amazes me. It's like looking for lost art from years passed. Gustave Dore is but one of many artist the world has forgotten, who's illustration and engravings grazed our papers, giving us something special to contemplate and enjoy.

Note: I cut out the illustration from a newspaper from the 1930's, and using gel meduim to glue it to a sheet of 300lb watercolor paper, and after it dried, I added watercolor.

Proof of Work

Sort:  

Your color job brings more life to the scene, nicely done.

Btw, where do you find all these old newspapers in such good condition? It's pretty fascinating to see what used to be so common.

Thank you. I had found a big box of old newspapers at a yardsale a couple of years ago for 20 bucks, and all the newspapers were compiled into different subjects about world war 1 , world war 2, and many other subjects. The newspaper clipping above was from a Charles Dickens Story that printed one chapter a week for sixteen weeks. The lady I bought them from, said, her grandfather was a history buff, and saved anything about current events at the time. I got newspaper from the 1920's upto JFK's assisnation. And I agree, it is very fasinating to go through these old papers. In a sense they are lost treasures, and the artwork that adorned theses old newspaper is stunning.

Wow, finding that is like finding a buried treasure. What a steal! In a way, re-purposing them into art is like giving them a new lease on life for people of today to appreciate. Forty years is a lot of papers! I'm surprised she sold them instead of donating to a library or similar interest. You bought a rare collection, lucky you : )