A very special portrait [ENG-ESP]

in Sketchbook9 months ago (edited)

It has been a long time since I last shared a drawing on my blog, in my beginnings in the blockchain I left here the portraits I made of The Beatles and Elvis Presley, artists that I admire a lot, and although I have some more, I dedicated myself to other subjects and didn't publish any more art.

Hacía un montón de tiempo que no compartía un dibujo en mi blog, en mis inicios en la blockchain dejé por aquí los retratos que hice de Los Beatles y Elvis Presley, artistas que admiro mucho, y aunque tengo algunos más, me dediqué a otros temas y no publiqué más arte.

IMG_20231110_122832.jpg

I did this portrait several years ago, and although I can't show the process because I didn't captured it, I didn't want to leave it out of my blog for a special reason: it's about my dad.

Este retrato que les presento lo hice hace varios años, y aunque no puedo mostrar el proceso porque no lo registré, no quería dejarlo fuera de mi blog por una razón muy especial: se trata de mi papá.

IMG_20231110_122703.jpg

However, I'm going to explain how my process is usually when drawing portraits. All the ones I have done have been simply with a graphite pencil and an eraser on white paper, in this case I used a sketchbook and not a loose leaf.

Sin embargo voy a explicar cómo suele ser mi proceso al dibujar retratos. Todos los que he hecho han sido simplemente con un lápiz de grafito y un borrador sobre papel blanco, en este caso usé un cuaderno de dibujo y no una hoja suelta.

IMG_20231110_123503.jpg

I always start making the outline of the face, in this case it wasn't easy, as his pose is looking to the side and not from the front, it was difficult to get the shape of the jaw. When I more or less succeeded and started to make the cap, the shadows that it gives to the face was another thing that took me a long time to do, after a lot of erasing and starting again.

Siempre comienzo haciendo el contorno de la cara, en este caso no fue nada sencillo, como su pose es mirando a un lado y no de frente, se me hizo difícil conseguir la forma de la quijada. Cuando más o menos lo logré y comencé a hacer la gorra, las sombras que ésta le da al rostro fue otra de las cosas que tardé en hacer, después de mucho borrar y empezar de nuevo.

IMG_20231110_122714.jpg

Then I started to make all the details, as you can see it is a uniformed man, in this case belonging to the citizen security. The suit has several elements that stand out, such as letters and numbers on the shoulders and a chain coming out of one of the pockets.

Luego me puse a hacer todos los detalles, como pueden ver se trata de un hombre uniformado, en este caso perteneciente a la seguridad ciudadana. El traje tiene varios elementos que destacan, como unas letras y números en los hombros y una cadena que sale de uno de los bolsillos.

IMG_20231110_122721.jpg

IMG_20231110_122727.jpg

IMG_20231110_123600.jpg

There is also the shield on the cap, which I had to observe very well in order to draw it as close to reality as possible.

También está el escudo en la gorra, el cual tuve que observar muy bien para poderlo dibujar lo más cercano posible a la realidad.

IMG_20231110_122736.jpg

After highlighting very well with the pencil the different intensities that each part of the portrait required, the one I show you below is the final result. I passed the drawing through the scanner so that it can be better appreciated. What do you think?

Después de remarcar muy bien con el lápiz las distintas intensidades que requería cada parte del retrato, el que les muestro a continuación es el resultado final. Pasé el dibujo por el escáner para que se aprecie mejor. ¿Qué les parece?

Papá by me.jpg

Long before leaving his country, Greece, and emigrating to Venezuela, my dad spent about a year working in the Municipal Police of Athens, at that time he was about 24 years old, and I was far from existing hahaha...

Mucho antes de dejar su país, Grecia, y emigrar a Venezuela, mi papá estuvo aproximadamente un año trabajando en la Policía Municipal de Atenas, en esa época tendría unos 24 años, y yo estaba muy lejos de existir jajaja...

Finally I leave you the photo I used to draw this portrait, I don't think I managed to capture his expression very well, but I still liked to try.

Por último les dejo la foto que usé para hacer este retrato, creo que no logré captar muy bien su expresión, pero aún así me gustó intentarlo.

IMG_20220318_104412.jpg



THANKS FOR VISITING MY BLOG! / ¡GRACIAS POR VISITAR MI BLOG!



All photos are my property / Todas las fotos son de mi propiedad