Flower Ghost Sketch (Digital)

in Sketchbooklast year

Hello everybody!

I am happy to share this little Illustration Concept with you all!

Because there is 1 thing I really enjoy drawing/painting, and its:

Plants and Girls.

But I started to practise painting more Backgrounds into my Illustrations and Sketches. So my work actually feels more grounded! In the beginning drawing Backgrounds was a huge paint, but after some time I realized that you can just put random shapes into the background and form them until they symbolize some kind of Background. 🙃

The_Flower_Ghost.png

I quite like vibrant colors and mixing them and testing different things out.
I also dont really have a "technique" per sé, I am just painting and layering.
And then painting over everything again and sometimes I am even working with 1 Layer because why not. 😄

I am thankfull for some procreate tips because I am now mainly using this app to paint. Before I used Photoshop and Clip Studio Paint.

And I have some Story to that picture if you are interested!

When I painted this one I was lying on my couch and almost "died" because I was sick with the flu. That was December 2020 and I thought I was done for because I thought it was Covid. I remember that I was wishing for it to stop so I could finally breath again. And because I couldnt slep I painted this piece. And she actually holds one of my old plants.

RiP That plant didnt make it till today! 😢

Also I went through my recording from Procreate and got you all some process shots!

Pls dont mind me also taking some notes during this sketch >.> "buy papes" if you cant read it. I am to lazy to clean it out for every process picture.

1
The Rare sight of Lines!
2
Bright Colors AHOI!
3
4
Here I started some flat Shading:
5
Then I found out that I like that shading color for the skin to be the main skin color because why not. But she looked kinda creepy with that smile.
6
So I overpainted it and opend her eyes a bit more.
7
Starting to find some more colors and also starting the background in the same time! I tried out some random colors, ended up with a blob in the background and thought, this needs trees. A lust Forest something that looks nice to the Eye, you know.
8
And then I just spread the colors a bit more to fill out the white. I also can see I tried to do some glow and reflection effect on the planter, I remember I wanted it to be all shiney and glowy because glowing things are just nice to look at. But I later deleted those effects because I thought it wasnt quite fitting.
9
Overpaint it a bit, and made sure to take a lower opacity on my brush so I have these nice mixing effects when painting the background. I found that helped me to build up a bit more atmosphere in a painting. Also the Glow is back.
10
More Details on the Background!
11
The first pink Ghost makes an appearance here! I thought it would be to said to have her walking alone through the forest so I added them as some kind of Nature-connected Spirit.
12
Ah end of the Glowing effect! I just got the idea to repeat the painting in night time to actually add the glowing affect and having a reason to use it >.>. Bear with me you are almost throught this blog post 😤
13
This is the "Full image" Thanks for looking through all of this! You made it! Here take a cookie! 👋🍪
14

I hope you like it! I wish you all a good Night / Day!
The End :3

Sort:  

how beautiful it has a very natural air

Congratulations @thedgrill! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You distributed more than 10 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 50 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out our last posts:

The Hive Gamification Proposal
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

OMG I love it so much ♥