Air whale (oil pastel)

in Sketchbook3 years ago

Hello friends!

Today I saw a stunning photo report from the Kite Launching Festival. It looked very surreal because there was a whale and other marine life as the kites.

This made a big impression on me. I thought how cool it looks when whales swim in the sky.
I am also currently studying an online course on oil pastels. I thought that I could try to draw this plot using oil pastels.

This is not the most common drawing material. Dry soft pastels are most often used. But I like oil pastels. It is easy to rub it with your finger. It has a structure and you can use it in your drawings.

IMG_27811.jpg

So my drawing materials

  • a sheet of smooth drawing paper
  • oil pastels
  • acrylic paste
  • colored pencils Polychromos

I decided to add a little variety to the foreground and create a textured background for the oil pastels.

I have outlined in the drawing a sketch of a whale, a horizon line, a foreground. Then I took a palette knife and applied a small amount of acrylic paste to the foreground. I created a texture, Dry with a hairdryer to harden the acrylic paste.

photo1634757936.jpeg

I also created a colored background for my drawing. I chose a warm pink oil pastel color and applied a finishing touch to the drawing.

photo1634757937.jpeg

Next, I took a small amount of thinner liquid and rubbed the strokes across the sheet. I got a uniform pink color. I also took lilac, gray, blue colors of oil pastels. I started applying these colors to the sky.

IMG_2770.jpg

I made the foreground darker. There are darker crayons - dark gray blue, emerald green, gray-green. When I apply a stroke to the texture, there are white spots and unevenness. It looks interesting.

IMG_2773.jpg

I started to draw a whale. For this I use white, gray, blue.
IMG_2774.jpg

It's time to draw other kites.

IMG_2776.jpg

At some point, I wanted to make the sky darker. Added darker colors to the clouds. I also start detailing. I outline the figures of people, ropes in the sky, small details.

IMG_2777.jpg

I keep adding details. Small color accents - people on the horizon, small details, flags and other kites. I also decided that black adds depth to the color scheme.

IMG_27811.jpg

My work is ready!

IMG_2781.jpg

Thank you for the attention!

Veta

Sort:  

This is fantastic all around. Love it.

Wow! It looks awesome, indeed! Ivlike the concept, too! :)

Congratulations @veta-less! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 25000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 30000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Es bello como cada artista tiene su propia forma de hacer las cosas, impresionante!

This is beautiful, inspiring and magical drawing♥️ Congratulations