Life is a Balancing Act - The Life of Hypersensitivosaurus

in Sketchbook4 years ago

Not a stone but a tortoise.jpg

Welcome back to yet another fresh Hypersensitivosaurus story, written and drawn under the influence of coffee.

I should get rid of my love/ hate relationship with this popular drug and just make the best of it. Whether it makes me more fearful and hyper or not, one thing's for sure:

Morning coffee gives me a boost and the energy to write and - afterwards - type / post about my writing.

The following story is an example of that.

I'll start out by sharing a sketch book version of it, followed by a typed version ( for those who struggle with my handwriting ).

Enjoy!

IMG_6551.JPG

IMG_65531.jpg

IMG_6554.JPG

IMG_65551.jpg

IMG_6556.JPG

IMG_6557.JPG

While other raptors and predators got all that they needed by hunting, he was ( of ) a different type. It wasn't that simple for him.

He didn't have much to trade for food and - aside from that - he was growing his own food and ( thus ) dependent on the seasons and overall weather.

To not just be dependent on the aforementioned and to have another option, a Plan B, he decided to go make his money online.

This, unfortunately, involved a lot of screen staring, not his hobby, even though he enjoyed movies.

Staring just didn't feel natural and he always forgot to blink, which resulted in dry eyes, headaches and nose issues.

The latter probably had to do with his breathing though. Whenever he was sitting still, not moving around in the open air, he seemed to forget to breathe properly.

While standing on a round, not very big and somewhat slippery rock, using his muscled tail and tiny raptor arms ( the latter more for the idea, as he'd seen others do so ), to make sure he didn't fall, he reminded himself off the following:

image.png

"Life is all about balance"

image.png

As long as he made sure to keep spending enough time not staring at screens, in nature instead of inside his cave, standing up inside of sitting down, talking to others instead of just listening to the often times unhelpful voice inside his reptile head, it was all a-okay.

"All Is Well"

he told himself

and then, to his surprise, the stone started talking back:

"Please get off my back!
You're heavy and I was just about to go for a morning stroll."

The stone was no stone. It was a tortoise.

How could Hypersensitivosaurus not have noticed?

He had probably been staring at screens way too much ( talking about balance ).

Had he gone myopic?

TO BE CONTINUED...


( IDEA: make the tortoise a new character, based on / influenced by @drrune , the stone expert among my friends ? )

If you enjoyed this and you have only started following me recently, you might enjoy this earlier write up on (a) screen staring (dino), posted on the 28th of May.

Sort:  

Oh that would be lovely! Great idea!

That's just what I needed to hear, Javier. Remind me of this if I forget to post more about this character in the coming weeks. ✨

Hahaha... It kinda gives me the impression you based this story on your own life: the screen starring would be the activities around HIVE. Guess you have your own food garden? :)

Very true. Those who know me even better, probably recognize loads of me in this but I think many of us can relate to parts of this these days.

I don't have my own food garden ( yet ) - it's a work in progress - but my twin sister, who I see quite a lot, does have a small one and a huge garden plus loads of fruit trees ;<)

hahaha cool ! :)

Lovely little story! <3
Not long ago we noticed a little tortoise at the place where we parked for a while. I had never seen a free tortoise before! Great experience :-) And I thought they look a little bit like dinos too.

Oh how nice. Thanks for sharing that story with me. Yeah, they're one of few animals that definitely were around on the planet very early on.✨

The coffee boosted your productivity, quite lovely Vincent! Life is indeed a balancing act, you're so right about that.

Yeah, I guess it makes me work a little faster and if I channel it the right way, I like what it results into.

Thank you!

Fellow coffee junkie here :) lol, my day can't start without a proper coffee! I feel ya.. thanks for sharing your creativity once again :)

Hope all is well! <3

Love it! <3 I love this whole project. I love how shamelessly autobiographical this character, you don't even pretend it's not you lol

Oh, I only saw this post now, sorry about that. Your handwriting and sketches really inspire me 🙂 I think it's a great idea to make the tortoise a new character, based on/ influenced by @drrune, can't wait to read more 😉