Learning how to draw the sea [EN/ES]

in Sketchbook5 months ago

11 sin título_20230901135217.png

Hello beautiful people of this community of artists and HIVE, I hope you are doing well and having a nice day!!!

A few days ago I decided to practice how to draw water since I didn't know how, and all my attempts to draw "decent" water were failed, I looked for a tutorial on Youtube that didn't help me much to be honest but I could understand a little of how it was going, I had to make 3 attempts to get it right but the third time is the charm haha.


SPANISH VERSION (click here!)


Hola gente linda de esta comunidad de artistas y de HIVE, espero se encuentre bien y estén teniendo un lindo día!!

Hace unos días decidí practicar como dibujar el agua ya que no sabía, y todos mis intentos de dibujar agua "decente" eran fallidos, busque un tutorial en Youtube que no me ayudó mucho para serles sincera pero pude entender un poco de como iba el asunto, tuve que hacer 3 intentos para que me saliera bien pero la tercera es la vencida jaja.

First attempt

The first video I saw only made me understand a few things, but I thought that the video was enough, so I placed a light blue background a little dark then I added a super light blue and blurred it, and then I started to make somewhat deformed circles without thinking about perfection, and to make them of different sizes.


SPANISH VERSION (click here!)

Primer intento

El primer video que vi solo me solo me hizo entender pocas cosas, pero pensé que con el vídeo ya era suficiente, así que coloque un fondo celeste un poco oscuro luego le agregue un azul super claro y lo difumine, y luego comencé a hacer círculos algo deformes sin pensar en la perfección, y a hacerlos de distintos tamaños.

IMG_20230917_114614.jpg

IMG_20230917_114543.jpg

IMG_20230917_114509.jpg

When I finished making the circles I felt it was looking good but the failure came after I tried to erase something I had done wrong and I realized that I had done everything in the same layer together with the background.... IT WAS VERY TROUBLING, but at least I learned that I had to be more careful next time and also check if I'm on the same layer (since sometimes I forgot).


SPANISH VERSION (click here!)


Cuando termine de hacer los círculos sentí que estaba quedando bien pero el fallo viene luego de que trato de borrar algo que había hecho mal y me di cuenta de que había hecho todo en una misma capa junto con el fondo... FUE MUY MOLESTO, pero por lo menos aprendí que tenía que tener más cuidado la próxima vez y también verificar si estoy en la misma capa (ya que a veces me olvidó).

IMG_20230917_114316.jpg

Second attempt

The second attempt I did it the next day since I was a little stressed but there were some advances as well as failures XD, for this second attempt I decided to watch another video where he explained me how the shadows work the color the brightness everything related to the sea to be able to draw it, I understood a little more and I started to draw.

I took a reference image and started to make circles but very very small, that was my mistake making them too small and too many I was never going to finish.


SPANISH VERSION (click here!)

Segundo intento

El segundo intento lo hice al otro día ya que estaba algo estresada pero hubieron algunos avances al igual que fallos XD, para este segundo intento decidí ver otro vídeo donde me explicara como funcionan las sombras el color el brillo todo lo relacionado con el mar para poder dibujarlo, entendí un poco más y me puse a dibujar.

tomé una imagen de referencia y empecé a hacer círculos pero muy muy pequeños, ese fue mi error hacerlos muy pequeños y demasiados no iba a terminar nunca.

IMG_20230917_114156.jpg

when I realized I decided to have faith and move on to the next step ignoring this red flag 🚩, the next step was to copy the circles layer put a dark color and move it carefully so that it resembles a slight shadow but or surprise appeared suddenly two more mistakes, the first one was to move a lot of place the layers that made that at the edge of the illustration an empty space without circles another red flag 🚩 and the next one was to make very thin strokes when drawing the circles since the idea was to make a thick line so that they are noticeable, red flag x3 🚩 haha.


SPANISH VERSION (click here!)


cuando me di cuenta decidí tener fe y pasar al siguiente paso ignorando está bandera roja 🚩, el siguiente paso era copiar la capa de círculos ponerle un color oscuro y moverlo con cuidado para que se asemeje a una sombra leve pero o sorpresa aparecieron de golpe dos errores mas, el primero fue mover muchísimo de lugar las capas eso hizo que al borde de la ilustración se notará un espacio vacío sin círculos otra bandera roja 🚩 y el siguiente fue hacer trazos muy finos a la hora de dibujar los círculos ya que la idea era hacer una línea gruesa para que se noten, bandera roja x3 🚩 jaja.

IMG_20230917_114035.jpg

But it was obvious that I would not give up easy I would fight until I got at least an acceptable result for me.

Third attempt (they say it's the last one)

After much suffering apparently I did not learn and I fell back into the same mistake making too many circles serious mistake but with a solution in mind I decided to give it a try and save my time that apparently had been lost xD, I decided to do something a little lazy but I had already made 1 failed attempt that day understand me hahaha, what I decided to do was to expand the circles layer and so I managed to remove several circles from the screen, it was a super fast and easy job and I feel that if it helped me, maybe it was not as natural as if I did it myself from scratch, that's true.


SPANISH VERSION (click here!)


Pero era obvio que no me rendiría fácil yo lucharía hasta obtener por lo menos un resultado aceptable para mí.

Tercer intento (dicen que es la vencida)

Luego de mucho sufrir al parecer no aprendí y volví a caer en el mismo error hacer demasiados círculos grave error pero con una solución en mente decidí darle una oportunidad y salvar mi tiempo que al parecer se había perdido xD, decidí hacer algo un poco de flojos pero ya había hecho 1 intento fallido ese día entiéndanme jajaja, lo que decidí hacer fue ampliar la capa de círculos y así logré quitar varios círculos de la pantalla , fue un trabajo súper rápido y fácil y siento que si me ayudo, talvez no quedo igual de natural que si lo hiciera yo misma desde cero, eso es cierto.

IMG_20230917_113938.jpg

IMG_20230917_113857.jpg

IMG_20230917_113747.jpg

Then what I did was to change the color of the water to a bluer color and put light coming from one direction to resemble the brightness of the sun, and at once put shadow.


SPANISH VERSION (click here!)


Luego lo que hice fue cambiarle el color al agua por una más azul y ponerle luz que proviniera de una dirección para que se asemejara al brillo del sol, y de una vez ponerle sombra.

IMG_20230917_113717.jpg

The next step was to make the yarns to connect with the foam and to make them thin, I feel that this step worked well.


SPANISH VERSION (click here!)


El siguiente paso fue hacer hilitos que conectaran con la espuma y que fuesen finos, siento que este paso me quedo bien.

IMG_20230917_113644.jpg

Then I lowered the opacity of the white circles layer to make them look more natural and I added a blur effect to the dark circles to make them look nicer.


SPANISH VERSION (click here!)


Después le baje la opacidad a la capa de círculos blancos para que se vieran más natural y a los círculos oscuros le coloque un efecto de borrosidad para que se vieran más bonito.

IMG_20230917_113556.jpg

The last step was to add a very bright light to make it look much better like sunlight and I really liked that, let me know what you think in the comments ;)


SPANISH VERSION (click here!)


El último paso fue agregar una luz muy brillante para que se asemejara mucho mejor a la Luz del sol y valla que eso sí me gustó dime tu opinión en los comentarios ;)

11 sin título_20230901135217.png

The truth is that I was satisfied but I do not know if I really like the drawing even so my family says it was super good and that I did it haha <3.

well artist people of this nice community and HIVE, I hope you liked the publication that I shared today <3, I'm Wuildanart and see you in a next post I love you bay!!!


SPANISH VERSION (click here!)


La verdad es que quede satisfecha pero no sé si me guste mucho el dibujo aún así mi familia dice que quedó súper bien y que lo logré jaja <3.

bueno gente artista de esta linda comunidad y de HIVE, espero les haya gustado la publicación que les compartí el día de hoy <3, yo soy Wuildanart y nos vemos en un próximo post los quiero bay!!

Wuildanart.png

Sort:  

Me encanto como te quedo este dibujo, siempre que lo veo me recuerda a la tranquilidad de la playa. De verdad que te quedo muy bonito
untitled.gif

Gracias hermanita <3!!

Congratulations @wuildanart! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You published more than 40 posts.
Your next target is to reach 50 posts.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out our last posts:

Hive Power Up Day - December 1st 2023