Rainbow Fall Leaves Watercolour Painting

in Sketchbook6 months ago

Thumbnail IMG_20231018_230346.jpg

Hello everyone! Today I am going to share how I painted an artwork of rainbow fall leaves. I love the vibes of the fall season where we get to see different colours and hues in leaves and trees. Hence, I wanted to paint some of them.

Tools and Materials


  • watercolour paint
  • a small round brush
  • a mixing palette
  • tissue paper to absorb excess paint
  • a jar of water
  • an art block that can absorb water
  • a HB pencil

The Process


IMG20231013124958.jpg

First of all, I did a simple outline of the leaves using a HB pencil. I used a hard pencil because it doesn't smudge much upon contact with water.

IMG20231014155449.jpg

I painted the first colour in blue which goes into the background area. I used the wet on wet technique where I painted water all over the background first then added little dabs of the blue paint. The colour gets lighter as it dries.

IMG20231014192239.jpg

So I added a few more layers of the sky blue in the background and mixed in some green as well as some yellow for a smoky effect. I kept the original blue around the leaves so it creates more definition to the leaves. So I just realized it looks more like the sea blue overall rather than sky blue but that's alright for me because I didn't have a precise idea of the painting.

IMG20231015162531 - Copy.jpg

I started painting the first leaf. The reason why I started from the right is because that's where the red leaf is and I was tired of looking at the blue hues for so long and wanted to see some contrasting colours so I jumped into the fiery red.

IMG20231015164709.jpg

Then, I painted a few other leaves in the meantime of waiting for the previous ones to dry. That way I don't lose focus.

IMG20231015170227.jpg

Phew, done painting all the leaves. But, not quite. They look dull because I have not built the colours up yet. I will add more layers of colours after they dry.

IMG20231016003724 - Copy.jpg

I have painted different shades of green on the leaves on the left side, ranging from dark, medium and warm with partial brown shade.

IMG20231016005347 - Copy.jpg

While waiting for the greens to dry, I moved back to the orange and reddish leaves. The right most is a purplish leaf. I painted colours with less water so the colours appear more vibrant since it is the final layer. I also drew some of the veins on the leaves with the same watercolour paint but only using the furthest tip of the brush.

IMG20231016015801.jpg

I used a lot of yellow to make the green leaf in the middle stand out. I added more purple to the last leaf to make it darker and gave some pink highlights to it.

IMG20231016150505.jpg

I also painted the golden yellow leaf at this stage and lightly painted the veins.

IMG20231016150536.jpg

This is my workspace. It may seem a little messy as I leave all the containers open while painting but that is for convenience.

IMG20231016151917 - Copy.jpg

I tried painting the green leaves again but it was creating the cauliflower effect as the paper was too damp and not dry enough to take more water. I ended up lifting some paint unintentionally (oops).

IMG20231016202541.jpg

Finally after allocating plenty of time, the leaves were dry enough and I managed to add more layers of green colour paint and now I feel satisfied with the colour payout.

IMG20231018114152 - Copy.jpg

I have done adding the veins on every leaf and this is the final outcome. For final touches, I also painted the background again with another layer of blue and green mix along with some subtle tints of yellow.

This was surely a painting I enjoyed making because it was relaxing and something related to nature. It is also a metaphor on how everything in life constantly recycles just like how leaves change colours throughout the seasons and as time flows. I hope that you enjoyed reading this as much as I enjoyed painting this.


959f20757dfa7a07956cd0eeeff492fa45472e068e29c6282630e2edd42fd96a.0.png

Thank you for dropping by and I wish you have a great day ahead :)

Sort:  

Congratulations @yashny! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 70000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 75000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @yashny.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more