Enhancing My Own Photo

in OCD3 years ago (edited)

image.png

Hello everyone, if you have read my posts and blogs, you might notice that I am a photo-enthusiast. I specially love to take nature's texture and sunsets. But portrait photography is something I want to ponder. When it comes to portraiture, I see a lot of good outputs and good thing about photographers nowadays they show their before and after products. So here's my take on trying portrait photo enhancement. Take note, I am not a pro editor or even a photographer so I appreciate your comments and suggestions

MY PORTRAIT

Here's the raw photograph of my face. I used Canon 1200D and a prime lens. It's hard to find a nice view and this is one of the pleasing pose, I think. :)

image.png

I removed the blemishes and pimple marks on my skin using healing brush tool:

BEFOREAFTER
image.pngimage.png

I hope you can see the difference. I personally don't want to remove the scars on my eyelids because for me, it is one of my trademark.

I adjusted the brightness and contrast to see what else to improve on the photo:

image.png

I used dodge tool to highlight the eyes and eyebrows.

image.png
This looks like a digitally drawn now, too much contrast and pitchy details, but we will fix that later. The black is saturated near red level.

Then, I blur some parts of the skin to make me look smooth. I duplicated the main layer, and blur it using Gaussian filter.

image.png

I masked the blurred layer and remove the part that is covering the eyes and other prominent features. As you can see, I did not manage to clean y skin, but I think it will be fine to look more natural ~
image.png

Now it's time to correct the colors. There are a lot of redness on the parts that are supposed to be black due to over dodging.

Hue/Saturation CorrectionColor Lookup Application
image.pngimage.png

image.png

Well, I guess this is done?

image.png

I will use this photo as a reference for my next painting

What do you think?

footer.png

Sort:  

It takes a lot of editing touches to produce great photos. I also do that for my food photos.


Congrats for being OCD Nomination of The Day in this post: OCD Daily: Issue #740


Well, it would be better if you can post in the related community currently curated and supported by @OCD for better support, such as:

For the information, the communities we're curating right now please check OCD Communities Incubation Program - Update #23. You are welcome to cross-post your posts from that community onto OCD with the peakd.com feature to get more visibility and engagement from the OCD subscribers.


image.png

Thank you so much !