Sort:  

Not from what I see. They have a bar to hang on and the kites ropes are tied to the bar. To turn left or right, they simply pull each side of the bar in the direction that they wish to go.
One needs strong arms though.

I have also seen some mistakes as when they try to turn too sharply, the ropes of the kite cross each other and twist the kite around,

I would have thought it takes at least as much strength as surfing which is tough. I'm quite good at snowboarding and have been doing it since high school, so balancing on the board would be natural for me. I found wakeboarding to be really easy the first time I tried, and it's quite similar.

I am sure that you will be a natural kite surfer and whever you get a chance you have to try it, as it looks like a serious fun event. Some guy also go ver far into the ocean, so it's not only a beating of the waves sport.