ak08 cross-posted this post in OCD last month


My Love Affair With Wine

in Weekend Experienceslast month

Wine. Just the word itself evokes images of rolling vineyards, rustic cellars, and evenings filled with laughter and good company. If you know me, you know that I am a huge wine lover. My preference list in terms of alcoholic beverages starts with wine, then whiskey, followed by beer and the rest. Today, I want to share with you why wine holds a special place in my heart and explore the nuances that make each bottle unique! 🤗


Why Wine?

There is something inherently captivating about wine. It could be the way it’s crafted — grapes harvested from a lush vineyard, then aged to perfection. Or perhaps it is the endless variety, with each region and vineyard producing wines that are uniquely theirs. For me, wine is not just a drink; it’s an experience. It tells a story of the land it came from and the hands that made it.

Exploring Wine Varieties

Within the world of wine, there are so many options to choose from. You have white wines that are crisp and refreshing, perfect for a summer day. Red wines, on the other hand, offer a broader s pectrum of flavors, from light and fruity to deep and robust. Personally, I am a fan of the latter —specifically, those medium to heavy-bodied red wines that deliver stronger tasting notes and a fuller flavor profile! 🤤


My Favorite Wine

Out of all the wines I have tried, my absolute favorite is the Amarone from Tommasi. This red wine is a masterpiece. Tommasi is a renowned winery in the Valpolicella region of Italy, known for their meticulous production process and commitment to quality. Amarone is a unique style of wine, made from partially dried grapes, which gives it a rich, intense flavor. It’s bold, complex, and just the right amount of fruity.

It is so good that I have given the different vintages a try, ranging from 2011 to 2017. While each year has its own characteristics, my favorite is the 2016 vintage. It offers an amazing balance of flavors, with deep, intense notes and a smooth finish. Plus, it provides excellent value for the quality. It is the bottle I always recommend to friends when they are looking for something truly special! 😍

Top Left: 2011, Top Right: 2012, Bottom Left: 2016, Bottom Right: 2017

Tommasi has been in the wine business since 1902, and their expertise is evident in every bottle. The Amarone is aged for years in oak barrels, allowing the flavors to develop and mature. If you ever come across this bottle, I highly recommend giving it a try. It’s a true gem!


Wine and the Joy of Togetherness

One of the things my wife and I love most about wine is how it can turn an ordinary evening into something special. Whether we are celebrating a milestone, unwinding from a hectic week, or simply enjoying a homemade dinner, opening a bottle of wine is a ritual that brings us closer together. Who could say no to wine and pasta, or even wine and cheese? They are practically inseparable! 😅


Your Recommendations

Now that I have shared my favorite wine with you, I would love to hear about yours. Do you have a go-to bottle or winery that you absolutely love? Is there a red wine that you think I would enjoy based on my preference for medium to heavy-bodied wines? Leave a comment below and let me know — I am always on the lookout for new recommendations! Cheers! 😜

Thank you for taking the time to read my post, and I look forward to sharing more next time!

PEACE OUT, @AK08

All images used in this post were taken from my iPhone