My Favorite Meal: "Chicken Rice"

in OCD4 years ago

When I lived in Singapore for a while I had this amazing experience with the food scene that was going on in there. It was a colorful and delightful experience. Eventhough it is a tiny country it has a wide variety of food from India, Chinese, Malay influence. I have a favorite in every cultural food like India's Briyani, Malay's Rendang, and Chinese' Chicken rice. I favor all of them but the one that I had the most connection is the Chicken rice. It's called the Hainanese Chicken rice.

cr5 1.jpeg

This dish is basically a poached whole chicken coupled with a flavorful rice that is cooked using the stock & fat of the chicken itself.

There are so many food stalls and restaurants that includes this dish into their menu, some are making it their especiality. I normally prefer the one that specializes it and one of my favorite is the Hawker center along Macpherson rd. I really love the condiments and side dishes that comes with it.

cr4 1.jpeg

This is a special red chili sauce couple with grated ginger & green chili, oh my... this is the greatest trio when it comes to condiments. The red chili is the one that "packs a punch" while the ginger gives the richness & aroma while the green chili adds to the sweetness & tanginess to the flavor.

cr3DSC089121 1.jpg

The Achar (Nonya spiced mixed vegetable & fruits) plays a supportive role into this dish, this alone makes me want to eat more of the chicken rice. This side dish may look simple, but if you search for its recipe, you will have to fill your grocery basket with 31 different ingredients.

cr1DSC089081 1.jpg

What makes it special is that nobody could simply replicate the dish because it's so complex even though it looks simple. It takes a master to cook this food and it's being pass down through generations.

cr1DSC089081 1.jpg

I could eat this dish almost everyday and I don't get tired of it.

So that's all about my favorite food. I hope you enjoyed a photographic tour of my favorite food thoughts.

Have a great day ahead!

Sort:  

Source
Copying and pasting previous posts or significant parts there of could be seen as spam when:

  • Reposting the same content without additional original content or significant changes
  • Reposting content within the same payout window

Spam is discouraged by the community and may result in the account being Blacklisted.

Please refrain from copying and pasting previous posts going forward. If you believe this comment is in error, please contact us in #appeals in Discord.