Quick summary of me: Archie Briceño, content creator, writer, photographer and gamer

in OCDlast year (edited)

Hello there, once again, fellow Hivers.

My friend @augusto-cordova gave me a suggestion to try and tell my story in length so everyone in the community can fully appreciate where I'll be coming from each time I post. I guess the fact that I'm used to write extensively about anything will help making this post, so here goes.

IMG_4377.JPG

Alright, so, first things first: I'm 31 years old, I live in Eastern Venezuela (Hopefully that'll change soon, since I've been thinking about moving to another city for work, most likely Caracas, which is our country's capital), and my main line of work is content creation. I became a content creator mostly by happenstance. As a teenager, I always had the idea that I'd become something like a book author or a songwriter. I started going to school at 21 in Isla de Margarita (Or Nueva Esparta, the official name of that state, here in Venezuela) and then I got a job as a writer/translator to take care of my college bills and rent.

Being a writer/translator then became becoming an investigator/analyst/writer for clients on a platform called Livingston Research. Several years passed between landing my first writing job and then being on that platform. In this in-between, I got jobs at marketing companies writing narratives for brands to help them sell their products.

In 2019, my best friend Barbara helped me by lending me her camera and then we agreed that she'd sell me the camera and that I'd pay her in installments for a time (That's still going on, today, I still owe her 45 USD, so we're almost there). I had already learned photography by participating in photography workshops and courses but still had no camera of my own, up until February 2019. I was visiting my best friend in her house at Isla de Margarita and we had the idea of me picking up her camera. It's been a journey, ever since.

This is my friend Enilec Roque, who was 5-months pregnant when she participated in my concept photography project. I chose her as a candidate for this because I heard pregnancy changes a woman's self-perception and her whole mind.

I became mainly a portrait photographer while experimenting with the thing. As of today, I'm heralding a conceptual photography project which studies self-perception in the age of social media and how exposing ourselves in social media platforms can change the way we look at ourselves and modify or influence our identity. The idea is to create several photobooks including portraits from experimental subjects and mixing it with narrative so it tells the participants' stories but also helps other people self-reflect.

Wow, 400 words already, huh? See? I told you it wouldn't be a problem creating a lengthy post, for me.

Moving on then... Uhm, right, so already talked about what I've done so far. What else is there?

One of the most challenging things about my life has been getting to understand that I suffer from a mental disorder called Persistent Depressive Disorder, or Dysthimia, which is a type of depression that has recurrent symptoms over an extended period of time. I developed symptoms for the first time at the age of 17. For the past 14 years, I've been struggling with it a lot, also with anxiety and suicidal thoughts and mental crises.

I'm still dealing with this problem so far because I haven't received enough therapy. I moved to Bogota, Colombia in January 2022 and came back to Venezuela 3 weeks ago because of this illness (Mostly), as it turns out that getting psychological and psychiatric attention in Colombia is far more complicated than I thought it would be.

Bogota is where I lived in Colombia

I came back and I'll be picking up where I left off. While being in Colombia, I didn't get a chance to create too much content nor make any progress in my career as a photographer, so hopefully I can turn that around while being here.

To me, being a content creator is more than just posting funny videos to YouTube or TikTok. I'm always trying to create stuff with meaning. I relate to movies and TV shows because of that, because of their ability to convey meaning with narrative.

My dream is to become a screenwriter/director and work with production companies like HBO/Warner Brothers, Marvel, Sony and others, publish my concept photography on important outlets and creating stories in all sorts of mediums, like movies, comics and books.

So yeah, that's me. Hopefully, the fact that I'm getting back to writing here on Hive and that I'm doing therapy right now will help make things easier for me during this very freakish period of time in my life.

Oh, I forgot to mention I also had a band at some point. Here's one of our songs, it's called Prophecy of Man. It's pretty bad but I think some of you might like it either way.

Thanks for reading. See you in the next post!

Sort:  

Welcome to Hive brow!!! Here we have a few community where you can found interesting stuff, develope all your creativity and share your work or art to all.
Hi Five 🙏🏻

¡Bienvenido a HIVE hermano! Aquí tenemos algunas comunidades donde puedes encontrar cosas interesantes, desarrollar toda tu creatividad y compartir tu trabajo o arte con todos.
Venga esos cinco 🙏🏻

Congratulations @archiexis! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 10 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 50 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP