Getting over the FEAR of creating GENUINE content (First Post)

in OCD3 years ago

This post is more so target for people who don't create or don't create as much as they'd like but may apply to anyone who posts consistently..

Let's GO!

Before joining the blockchain side of Social Media, I joined TikTok as it started to blow up as a result of COVID-19.

In terms of skills/hobbies: I'm a Photographer, Videographer, Graphic Designer, and Creator in general.

However, I also have interests in Spirituality, Self-Development, and all the other things related to those subjects.

Before posting content on Tiktok, I always use to be hesitant about things like...
"What will my followers think?"
"What will people in my hometown think"
"How many likes will it get?"

As a photographer, I couldn't even post my art freely because I was too afraid of what someone might think...

It's literally art, it's meant to be shared!

That was me. Stuck in what I like to call,
"The Highschool Mindset"

I was camera shy too, I didn't like hearing my voice and would constantly judge my own looks and appearance.
Personally, I believe these are the first "demons" that many of us face when it first comes to creating content and just in terms of being human beings in the 21st century lol.

As TikTok started blowing up, so did the spiritual posts. I was seeing lots of content and discussions that I knew I could add to or be apart of.

Yet, I was letting the fears of HYPOTHETICAL judgment cloud my desire and urge to create/share.

Then I had a powerful insight...
An insight that changed the entire trajectory of how I would go about Social Media and life in general...

"Even if 100 people judge, what if I change 1 person's life?"

That's when I stopped holding myself back and truly began creating and sharing.

I started creating videos where I was giving advice, answering comments/questions, and most importantly, I was talking about my own life and being real and authentic about it.

I talked about my trials and tribulations, traumas from when I was a kid and how they created negative self-beliefs later on in life, my current mindstate (not putting on a fake personality, being "fake happy").

This was life-changing. I had people double my age (21) messaging me and telling me how I've helped them out of their depression, made them feel like they weren't alone in their struggles, and entirely changing their daily routines and self-talk with themselves.

Not only am I impacting people double my age, but I'm also impacting people younger than me. I've had 13-17 year-olds message me telling me how much I've helped them. All of which follow and support me religiously now which I'm very blessed for.

It's so beautiful to think about the butterfly effect in regards to this as well.
Think about those 13-17 year olds, spreading positivity and insight to their friends, their parents, their siblings, teachers, classmates... Insane!

Most of all, I've created a community that shares nothing but love and positivity. That's something that I find to be very important for all content creators to do as well...

Instead of creating a following, create a community, or the way I like to see it, a family.

Also, In the whole time that I've been creating. I've had maybe 2-3 "hate" comments, 1 of which I had a heart-to-heart conversation with, and now we're actually good friends (Imagine that)!

I've gone from a community of 1 to 11k in the span of a couple of months!

Obviously, as you gain more and more "followers", it becomes difficult to stay in contact with those that were there in the beginning. I believe most understand this though, just be sure to stay genuine and continue to be the person you were known for. Interact with every person that interacts with your content genuinely, create a connection and build a relationship with every person.

My profile picture was actually created by a good friend of mine that I met on the app! It was actually a surprise too which absolutely blew me away.

If you're going to take anything away from this, take this away from it.

  1. "Your mess is your message"
  2. Be genuine even if it doesn't get you the amount of engagement you want
  3. When you stop acting like someone your not, weights are lifted from your shoulders
  4. Judgment is like a glass ceiling, don't let it box you in.

5.png

Much love y'all <3