You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My island

in OCD4 years ago

I didn't mind school very much, I was fine with it. I did struggle to learn to read however, it took a little bit, but once I got the hang of it, I was gone. I got a library card, and started borrowing books. I loved the travels those books would take me on. I read a lot of Asimov, and other sci-fi fantasy stories, and I still to this day love them. I did not like the biographical books that school made us read, but I read them, and yes when SHTF it is nice to grab a book or a well known trilogy and read again. My go to books when I've had enough of life's complications is W.M. Gears Spider trilogy, I read it about once a year since it was issued back in 1988 and 89. For me that series has stood the test of time. I can still see Letta Dobra running through the bayonet grass her feet being torn to shreds as John Iron Eyes comes swooping in on his horse to lift her up and whisk her away to safety.

Sort:  

My parents did the flash-card thing with us before we went to school so I was already reading a little, but as I got better at it I craved books, as you say, they would take me to somewhere else, transport me without e having to even move. It felt like running away a little I guess. Considering the way I was treated at school, the library was where I spent a lot of time - Probably sounds quite pathetic to other people, but for me it was self-reservation. Now, it's probably why I am so distrustful of, and disinterested, in people.

My dad was on the Asimov. Loved his sci-fi, and even wrote one (unpublished, that I actually still have, the manuscript.)

I've read so many different genres but have to cite Fantasy as my favourite. Tolkien of course, and Raymond E. Feist being my go-to authors. Like you, I've read their books many times over. These days I read a lot of historical books, and of course much military stuff.

Your last line...Just that descriptive sentence shows me how indelibly etched the memory of that series is within your mind, and how important a part of your that trilogy has been.

I'm many things mate, some good and some bad, but imaginative is certainly one of the good things and I'm fortunate to have imagination-enough to allow books to carry me away to other places.

Great reply you left me. Thank you.

!ENGAGE 50

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.