Alright god, I'm ready to be rich now

in OCD4 years ago

Life has been happening, and if you were ever in doubt, just look around you, you'll realise you can't rewind, take shit back or generally decide a lot of aspects of your life. Like your status in Society for example; it is something you were born into and life is just a rat race where we try to climb to the level above.

Oh the rat race, something I really don't relish because it is too tedious but alas, it is what it is and a man must make something of himself. I count myself as fortunate, relatively speaking of course. I was born into the Nigerian version of the middle class where we could afford the bare necessities and a little bit on top. We weren't going on vacations or anything like that but at least I could eat chocolate.

Life in Nigeria is generally hard, and just like everywhere else, it gets easier with more money accrued. But in Nigeria, it is fundamentally difficult and even rich people feel the hardness. It is one of the things that has baffled me about my society and something that I always wonder how it can be fixed. Like, I can't wrap my head around how people are so fixated on being backwards and holding strongly to Povertitious ways.

That's a new word by the way, *povertitious" depicts a situation where people prefer being poor and miserable over development because they want to eat in the short term and damn the long term. A classic case of eating fish and learning how to fish type shit, I reckon @penderis will know a thing or two about this.

Ah yes, enough with the whining, because this post wasn't about that. Actually, this post is technically about whining but sort of like, whining about something that can't be fixed, so let's call it a "conversation". You see, I like the thought of being rich, and having all that opulence. I want to have money so I can distribute it to everyone, both stupid and non-stupid alike; I'd like to give everyone an equal chance. That's the post ladies and gentlemen, thanks for reading.

Whatever you do, please don't be poor, but if you're like poor like me, don't be povertitious. That's the worst kind. Have a great day.


Sort:  

Being rich is not entirely connected with money, rich people can feel unhappy or miserable too. I believe in spiritual richness. I think that money is only a secondary product of your state of mind.

Well that's true, it isn't but you know, I'd like to have a decent amount of money, and I strive for it. Spiritual richness isn't something that can be measures, although we can sense it from people, based on their lifestyle and such. I'd like to be spiritually rich too but right now, I just want money to buy things that I think I need.

Nigeria is killing me. If it is hard for the rich in Nigeria, i prefer that kind of hardness. Did you see arewa twitter. The country is messed up. I used to think everything begins with you doing your part. I think Nigeria is out of it. Just find your feets and run away from the country. I think every where is better than Nigeria. Or just get an appointment ... chikena

I don't even want to be rich and stay in this country. I'd rather live out my days I'm one obscure part of the world where there's constant light, than be here.

Iswearugad

This post earned a total payout of 1.878$ and 0.939$ worth of author reward that was liquified using @likwid.
Learn more.