My Hometown Stuttgart - MyPictureDay Submission

in OCD4 years ago (edited)

I travel a lot and I´m rarely at home. At home means being in Stuttgart, in the south of Germany, where I was born and grown up. Whenever I´m there, mostly during european summer, I love to go outside and take photos. Photos of historical sights, the streets or whatever gets in front of my lens.

On this day I was visiting two spots within the city of Stuttgart, the first one is a historical sight I´ve visited in the morning and the second one was a event that takes place regularly.

For all photos in this post I was using my Olympus EM10 MarkII Camera with either my Olympus M.14-42mm F3.5-5.6 EZ or my Olympus M.Zuiko Digital 45mm F1.8 lens.

Birkenkopf

Birkenkopf also known as Monte Scherbelino is a debris mountain at the rim of the city.

Monte Scherbelino is a monument, a memorial and a good Lookout at the same time. In the decades after the WWII, 1.5 million cubic meters of debris, rubble and ashes were deposited here, as 45 % of the City were destroyed.

In the 50s the Birkenkopf grew about 40m due to these debris and today measures 511 meters. The platform with the remarkable remains of once magnificent houses, which tell their own story, offers an impressive panoramic view of the city.

P6033287.jpg

P6033282.jpg

P6033284.jpg

P6033293.jpg

The following is to be read on this reminder notice

This mountain, piled up from the rubble of the city after the Second World War, is a memory for the victims and a reminder for the living.

P6033281.jpg


Flea Market in town

The second place I visited was the big flea market in the heart of the city. We´ve got flea markets every weekend but two times a year, in spring and autumn there is a massive one stretching over a few places in town.

I love flea markets for the win win situation alone. Someone sells something he does not need anymore and someone else who needs it buys it. But there are lots of professional sellers as well and they always win. :)

That one flea market I went to is held at a big place around a famous church in town called Johanneskirche.

This church is also considered a memorial against war, since it was also destroyed in the WWII. In the spring of 1944, the top of the filigree tower was finally hit. At that time it was still 66 meters high. Today there are only 45 meters left.

P8180817.jpg

P8180821.jpg

P8180822.jpg

P8180862.jpg

P8180869.jpg

IMG_3137.jpg


I hope you did like that little trip to my hometown Stuttgart and consider visiting it whenever you are near. And if so let me know, I´m happy to show you around.

Sort:  

Hometown is always close to the heart and contain so many memories.

Thats true, many good memories from all the past years. Although I´m not there as often anymore I think about that city quite often.

I miss Stuttgart. I lived in Germany for more than a year, part of that time in Darmsheim, part in Böblingen, and worked in Weil de Stadt. I visited Stuttgart quite often and loved the big park it has. I kind of miss Germany, at least wandering around but, I had quite some problems with the Scwebisch dialekt. Hochdeutsch I could understand quite good and I loved interacting with the Germans but, I was quite alone there and I had to leave. Hope you will upload more pics from Stuttgart. I have all of mine on a broken phone...

What? Really? I lived in Weil der Stadt as well for some years. My Dad still lives there. I do miss Stuttgart as well sometimes but most of the time I´m happy where I am right now.

Yeah the dialekt is strange, but don´t worry even I would not understand anything a 80 year old Grandpa is saying.

What kind of job did you do in weil der stadt?

I was a postman there between 2015 and 2016 and chances are that your dad has had his post delivered by me. I had the downtown area, half of it, Landesakasemie and surroundings, Schillerstrasse, Hindenburgstrasse up to Am Spitalweiher the whole area. A beautiful area but with too many uphill and downhill steps that affected my knees so I had to quit.

haha thats so funny. My Dad lives at Blammerberg, but friends of me used to live in Hindenburgstrasse but that was before that time. I use to live in that street that goes down from the train station. Schießrainweg.

True, lots of steps. Never work as a postman in stuttgart if you don´t like steps, its way worse :)

Schießrainweg and Blammerberg were not in my bezirk. I liked Hindenburg though...quuet but lots of stairs and hills 😁

I have visited Stuttgart on many occasions but never went further than the city centre. Somehow wanted to visit other places further away. The reason why I would go to Stuttgart was a travel link, I spent a year in Reutlingen as an exchange student, and there was a cheap bus into the Airport which was a better deal than the train.

But I never felt like I am missing out on not going around Stuttgart. I would have definitely liked to visit that flea market though. Sounds like an excellent place!

Really thats cool. So hopefully you´ve been to Tuebingen which is another University Town and absolutely beautiful in summer. Buses are always a better deal as the train in and around Stuttgart sucks! :)

Stuttgart is not that nice on first sight, but if you know where to go there are some cool places to visit depending on what are you interested in. Again, especially in summer with a festival every weekend. Exploring the wineries is also a good thing to do.

Yes, indeed, Tuebingen is soooo beautiful. I was jealous I did not get a placement there, but then again it was literally the next stop. But Reutlingen had quite many awesome places too! And two fantastic castles nearby. So no complaint there 😂

I guess everyone wants to study there, at least in summer. It also is pretty good for party, probably like any other student city. :)

Almost every town that lays next to the Neckar is beautiful

Hi @betterthanhome, your post has been upvoted by @bdcommunity courtesy of @hafizullah!


Support us by voting as a Hive Witness and/or by delegating HIVE POWER.

JOIN US ON