You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: (Rarity x Beauty)² = V.W. SP2

in OCD4 years ago (edited)

Congratulations! This is the first time you´re blogging about a car I did not even know it exists, although it´s a Volkswagen and I´m german. 😂

In general the car reminds me a bit at the Datsun Z models. But that black beast at the end definitely looks a bit like a porsche with a wide body.

EDIT: Forgot to mention that I absolutely love that SP2

Sort:  

Lol, thanks 🤣! I've actually been reading more about Volkswagens in Brazil as I was writing this, and I realised that those Brazilians are holding out on us! They have loads of cool VWs that the rest of the world, not even the Germans, get. Case in point, is the SP2.

That's a good thought too, and its starting to remind of the Datsun Fairladys as well. I guess it's the general shape, and its principle of being the affordable sports car for the masses. Unfortunately, the SP2 never got the love that the Zs have. I wonder, had VW made the SP2 for purchase worldwide, would we have seen a cult following around this, maybe spawn a few more generations, like the Z had?

It's just a rendering, but I do wish someone would make this a reality. As you've said, it genuinely has a Porsche look to it - a 928, or 944, eh? That 911 Turbo set of wheels really give it a nice look, I think. Properly retro!

It´s definitely the shape, it´s that long bonnet and that hatchback. I just love that shape. The 260Z is a dream car. Saw that one in Sydney. You don´t see that car in Germany at all.

IMG_1039.jpg

I wonder, had VW made the SP2 for purchase worldwide, would we have seen a cult following around this, maybe spawn a few more generations, like the Z had?

Probably. I just found out that VW was starting to built the Scirocco at the samt time, so this might be the counterpart to the SP2?! And as we know, it´s a classic. Would be really interesting to know how the SP2 would look like today.

Oooh, now that's a lovely Z you got there! Personally, I think I prefer the 240Z. It doesn't have the refinements made in the later models, but the originals always seemed simpler, and maybe lighter - though I'm not exactly sure about that.

I forgot that there was a classic Scirocco model though, so that's a hearty reminder right there 😁. I guess it could've been the international version of the SP2 given it's specifications, but it's nowhere near as attractive as the SP2 in my mind. Probably better to drive, though.