What consistency and persistence can do- a case of the famous Tobi Amusan

in OCD2 years ago
Yesterday, a Nigerian named Tobi Amusan won the world championship for women's 100-meter hurdles. She cleared a world record in the semi-final and later went on to clear it in the finals.

A video of her crying while singing the national anthem went viral, and I almost cried. I didn't feel like crying because she made Nigeria proud, I felt like crying because I thought of how many failures she must have experienced in her journey before finally getting this recognition.

Funny enough, I missed the race but after watching it over again, one question came to my mind;

what was the price she paid


18c7ccf2482144cf9adec130c87ba643~2.jpg

Shortly after getting so emotional, I saw a tweet she made on Twitter 6 years ago and it read

"unknown now, but I will be unforgettable... I will persist until I succeed"

Tobi Amusan

After seeing this tweet, I had to go into a moment of deep reflection. There were lessons from this single tweet.

Life-changing success doesn't happen in a day.

There is a saying that success has many friends. A lot of people did not know her until yesterday. She had less than one thousand followers on Twitter and today she is verified on Twitter.

Everyone k
It is really sad that nowadays, people are looking for the fastest way to make it without going through the process. For instance, I started learning affiliate marketing a few months ago and I gained attention from my friends. Some of them approached me about learning affiliate marketing and I told them they have to take time to learn and master the art.

Surprisingly, anytime I talk about learning, they change the conversation immediately. So I discovered that people are looking for shortcuts to success when in the real sense, there is a price to pay.

About a few weeks ago, another person came to ask me about making money online and the first thing they asked was how long will it take them to make money from it.

I guess this is where most of my generation get it wrong. We are so eager to earn instead of focusing on learning. This is why most of them get burnt in different schemes.

You tell an average man to read books on marriage before he gets married and he tells you that he doesn't believe in books. A young cap tells you he wants to be like Warren Buffet but when you ask them what they know about finance, you will be shocked that they know little to nothing about money.

Persist till you succeed

This is another challenge that is killing most people. For example, I onboarded a few people and after their first two or three posts, they stop on hive. When you ask them why they stopped, the excuses are just alarming.

You hear things like I wasn't upvoted, the money was small. Then I go on to ask them if there is anything they have done that has given them money without a bit of difficulty?

People are not ready to be persistent. Persistence and consistency in doing worthy thing is key to having life-changing success.

I wish I could throw more light on this. Warren Buffet started investing as a child from 11 years till he became known in his 50s.

I think Warren Buffet is too far for an example. Top YouTubers consistently post every day because they are hopeful of a good result.

The problem is most people compare their starting point to other people's years of hard work.

For example, a new hiver might think hive is so easy and he begins to compare his starting point with @taskmaster4450's present point.

If one is going to really do well, one has to learn to be consistent and persistent

On a final note, Tobi Amusan's story started from somewhere. You too can start from somewhere. Focus on what you love and give it your best and tell yourself you are not going to stop until you make it big.

Sort:  

I was waiting for a post on it.. thanks for bringing it here before I did..

Consistency pays well.

Consistency pays my britgr


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Congratulations @bhoa! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You made more than 5000 comments.
Your next target is to reach 5500 comments.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

I agree with you, there's always a price for an achievement. Congratulations to her. Thanks for the post.

Thank you for stopping by

Hi @bhoa. You have some good points here.

About a few weeks ago, another person came to ask me about making money online and the first thing they asked was how long will it take them to make money from it.
I guess this is where most of my generation get it wrong. We are so eager to earn instead of focusing on learning. This is why most of them get burnt in different schemes.

This is something many should learn.

However, there are a few communities I'd like to suggest for this topic and the post would fit better in those. Please check out the ThoughtfulDailyPost, Personal Development and Self Improvement. Check them out, see which one you like for the next post with this type of topic.

OCD is for topics that don't fit in any other community and should be used when you don't find a niche community for your post.

Here's a guide I put together to help you learn about how communities work and why you should use them -> Communities Explained - Newbie Guide.

Once you posted your post in the right community, you can then cross post it to OCD community. Here's a guide about cross posting.

Please don't delete any post with the purpose of reposting it in another community as that can be considered abuse! Leave this post here, you'll get it right next time.

Thank you for this