You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Smile fishing

in OCD4 years ago

Alas, I've got no smiles for you this weekend. Unless you are a sadist and will smile at me changing the oil in my beater Toyota in 43C temps.

First off, I'm retired and old. Weekends are just like weekdays except more young people around on the weekends.

Second, I'm getting ready for a pretty long road trip (starting NEXT weekend) to see friends and family. In fact, I'm going to meet some family for the first time. I was adopted at birth and just have found my birth family. So I'm going to meet a brother and two sisters for the first time later this month. If that doesn't make you smile you might want to check your pulse.

I know some of what you are dealing with, I had to do that detail with my father. I just let out a big sigh and that about covers it. I wish you strength and love and compassion for the man that was.

Sort:  

Thanks mate, for your comment and engagement.

Pretty cool that you're meeting your family for the first time, I hope that goes well for you. I'm sure it will.

So, 43...Where are you? That's what we get here in Summer, hotter in fact. I'm not a big fan of the heat despite being born here and being used to it. 18-22°C is more my style.

This situation is a bit difficult and whilst normally I do a good job, this week has been particularly difficult. My main focus is that my dad is comfortable, and pain free...He's the one suffering the most and I owe him that.

Anyway, have a good weekend, stay cool.

I'm in Yuma, Arizona. The sort of Northwest edge of the Sonoran Desert. One of the hottest places on earth, obviously. We will get to 45C a time or two this summer and have been as high as 48C. It's wonderful in the winter 😂 Literally 365 day motorcycle riding area. I went 5 years without a car before I got a dog. He's a fussy bugger about where he rides.

And the heat changed literally overnight. It's 20C right now with a high of only 34 predicted today. Putting off my oil change was a genius choice. I hope you smile early and often this weekend.

It sounds like here too, in summer. Same sort of temperatures, often for weeks on end.