You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Watch Me - The draw of social proof

in OCD4 years ago

It's an expression of trust in you-the influencer and content creator that I read the article at all. I last had a watch on my wrist November 10, 2001. The day we opened the coffee shop I broke the band on my watch. I put it in a 'holder thingy' in my GFs pickup, and I have't seen it since.

But I get the 'trusted source' and advertising part. I must be an influencer too because I don't mimic anybody. I drive a shit box Toyota, ride a motorcycle alone and far, and wear T shirts that are older than many people here on hive. (I have one from Daytona Bike Week and one from Sturgis 1989).

I really do feel for the people that have to 'be like Mike'. I costs a lot of time and energy to keep up.

Sort:  

I put it in a 'holder thingy' in my GFs pickup, and I have't seen it since.

What about the girlfriend and the pickup? :D

It's an expression of trust in you-the influencer and content creator that I read the article at all.

in response to someone, I was going to write a post on this. Leaders are made - not by themselves, but those who follow them. An influencer is someone that has been able to build up trust in some way, and a real influencer has the consistency to hold that trust long-term, as even when they make mistakes, people trust that it was made in good faith. Most of the social media influencers are just famous people with lots of followers, they don't actually have trust - just attention.

I drive a shit box Toyota, ride a motorcycle alone and far, and wear T shirts that are older than many people here on hive. (I have one from Daytona Bike Week and one from Sturgis 1989).

Nothing wrong with any of that. I don't have any shirts from when I was 10 though :D

I costs a lot of time and energy to keep up.

This is the privilege of not being a follower, you go where you choose. A lot of people want to follow leaders, and then blame the leader for the final destination.

I really miss that pickup. It was a serious piece of gear. :)

"People buy things from people they know, like and trust". That was marketing genius from the 50s and it's still true today.

"People buy things from people they know, like and trust". That was marketing genius from the 50s and it's still true today.

For sure. These days, young people think good service is being a sleaze :)