You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Spring and winter's end

in OCD3 years ago

For children, there is a world of firsts, like for Smallsteps today having her first lollipop. She doesn't realize that she will never have that first again and in time, she will not remember having it this one. All she will know is that she had had lollipops, there will be no individual moment for each.

For some things you just never forget your first time. Just sayin' :)

Motorcycle ride, of course. On a '53 Indian Chief. What were you thinking?

My mother's life trajectory was a little like your neighbors in that when her baby died she just flat quit. My siblings and I could see it, and tried everything we could to get her attention, but she was just done. Let's be realistic: She had a great run with 85 really good years and 4 that were less than ideal.

I'm glad that you could relieve a little of the pain for your neighbor. I worry that so many face that end with all the pain fully intact, and in fact magnified.

I'd like to think there are things I can do that I enjoy right to the end. Writing and photography even if I'm taking pictures of my freaking toes. Baring Alzheimer's of course. In which case the end comes way before death.

Sort:  

I don't remember riding my first chief... ;D

Let's be realistic: She had a great run with 85 really good years and 4 that were less than ideal.

It is hard to be realistic at times though, isn't it? I think part of the problem of the world today is we are judged on our worst, not our best, even if the worst of us is just a sliver amongst the rest.

I'm glad that you could relieve a little of the pain for your neighbor.

It doesn't take much effort to have a chat to someone over a fence, yet few seem to do it these days.

It is great to have something to do of value til death, whenever it comes knocking. I think that if the knock came today, most people would look at their last months and perhaps years and think - I could have done more and that more probably should have been something else than what I did.

!ENGAGE 20

There has already been too much ENGAGE today.