A Summer Challenge, About the Sun!

in OCD4 years ago

I discovered with pleasure and joy that a new contest was recently resumed. Sun Thursday, hosted by @uwelang.

The upcoming contest - edition 3 will start July 30! The participation conditions and other details can be found in this post: Sun Thursday - Winners Contest Edition 2

As the title indicates, it is about the sun and the different ways in which we appreciate it (or not) and how we can show this appreciation (photo, video ...)

Because the next edition is on July 30, now I am training to participate in the contest. With a post outside the contest ...

Although we have the freedom to choose several forms of expression, I found that photography is the choice of all participants (I think 99%). Because of this we can call this contest a photo contest. In all contests the most beautiful, spectacular and interesting photos of the participants are chosen and they usually win.

I will try to propose absolutely normal photos, which emphasize the presence of the sun as we feel it every day. Photos we take on vacation or on the street or when we walk.

I will now propose some photos taken last year on vacation in Greece, the island of Thassos. Where the sun can be more present than at sea, if it is an island in Greece, even more so.

IMG_2339.jpg

IMG_2244.jpg

I really like going to Thassos although this big island is not one of the top beauty islands in Greece. When I go to Thassos I like to observe the ordinary life of people, I am not interested in modern hotels and resorts full of tourists. I like to walk on the side streets that do not appear in tourist guides.

IMG_2246.jpg

IMG_2266.jpg

IMG_2301.jpg

A real pleasure to eat in the small taverns where the food is made in the family kitchen, where you can eat the same food that the Greeks eat every day.

IMG_2337.jpg

Of course, the ultimate pleasure is the sea that you see almost everywhere you look.

IMG_2377.jpg

IMG_2359.jpg

The flowers are spectacular in the islands. A flower that the Greeks don't really like and consider it to bring poverty (I heard this from a guide but I don't know if it's true) ... leander! I like it very much and I also have some at home (I don't know if that's why I'm not too rich!). For @dswigle and her graceful #alwaysaflower challenge.

IMG_2241.jpg

In two months I should have gone to Thassos again. This unfortunate and dangerous pandemic with Covid-19 I think will prevent me from enjoying the sea this year. I try with these photos and memories to alleviate the longing.

Image.png

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL_float.png

Image3.png

Image3.png

Sort:  

Wonderful walk through this beautiful place Dan..! 😊 Makes me feel like being on vacation, that's great 😁