My Introduction Post : Beginning to Hive

in OCD3 years ago

Hello everyone at Hive,

IMG_20210507_140827.jpg

This is Manas from Guwahati city, India. My username is @brahmaputra, which is also the name of the river on the bank of which my city is located. I am 27, a Civil Engineering grad, currently pursuing my Master's in Rural Development. My parents and younger sister complete my family. I love spending time with my pets-- my two little rabbits and the 'Duck Tales', the six ducklings whom I have named after the popular Disney cartoon of yesteryears. I follow Premier League football and Manchester United is my favourite club.

To be honest, I don't have much knowledge about crypto currency or blockchain. But I do have a liking towards blogging; to create original stuff and post my writeups and artworks occassionally -- be it related to current affairs, sports, business, science n technology, travel, food, life etc. Not long ago, I read about Hive, a platform which rewards users for their content. I thought it is better to engage with this platform then waste time in other social media websites. I earnestly hope I can get all the support from you people to begin my journey here cuz I don't have any mutual friend here to begin with.

Talking about my place, Guwahati is the capital city of Assam, a North-Eastern state of India. It is also called the gateway to the North-East. My state is famous for tea gardens -- you must have heard about the world famous 'Assam Tea'. The Kaziranga National Park in Assam is the home of the One horned Rhinoceros which is exclusively found here and nowhere else. Did you know that the Asia's first oil well was dug in Digboi, Assam in 1899? The world's largest (Majuli island) and smallest (Umananda island) riverine islands are both located on the river Brahmaputra. Bihu is the most popular cultural festival of the region. The Bohag Bihu is a harvest festival celebrated in mid-April that also marks the beginning of the Assamese New Year.

In March 2020, my city witnessed the first Lockdown due to rising cases of COVID-19. The situation improved gradually by September-October and people expected life to return to normal in the next few months. Everything looked fine till mid-April 2021 when the second wave of COVID-19 hit India and also my hometown. As I write this to you, I feel for my people who are suffering from this dreadful second wave. Hospital beds are being getting outnumbered to the number of positive cases. Lack of oxygen concentrators are pushing lives to danger. For a country like India, to vaccinate it's entire population is no child's play. Until now, less than 3% of the country has received doses of vaccine. I will try to get myself and my family vaccinated soon.

Thats a little about myself. There's a lot more to share with you all. I hope I will be able to make that happen with your valuable support in the upcoming posts. Thank You.

IMG_20210509_212810.jpg

@brahmaputra
9 May, 2021.


Sort:  

Hello @brahmaputra! This is @indayclara from @ocd (Original Content Decentralized) team. We saw that you already posted your first post here in Hive! Congratulations and welcome!

You can check out this this post if you want to discover different communities which you might be interested in.

If you have questions or concerns, you can hop into Discord server and we'll gladly answer your questions.

Thanks a lot for the warm welcome.

Congratulations @brahmaputra! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 10 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 50 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Welcome brahmaputra! If you love travel check out @travelfeed / TravelFeed.io :)