Just droning away over here

in OCD3 years ago

I got a DJI Mavic Mini drone for my birthday in July 2020. I have flown it in a lot of amazing places here in Utah, but I haven't taken the time to edit any of my footage together. Here are a few fun short flight videos, unedited.

Goblin Valley

Check out the post I wrote about Goblin Valley after an earlier visit in 2019 - it is a spot we have visited quite a few times now even though it is a good three hour drive or so away from us.


Mapleton Pits


The gravel pits above Mapleton are one of our favorite places to let the boys run around. I got a lot of great footage on this day of a group of motorcycles and side-by-sides tearing around the trails, the dust was catching the sunset in a really dramatic fashion later on in the evening. I could edit a really good video out of the shots I got on this day.

Maple Mountain


We are slowly trying to explore every single side canyon on the west flank of Maple Mountain (Spanish Fork Peak on Google Maps, but none of the locals use that name - it is Maple Mountain). This is near the Beaver Creek cutoff trail, above the powerline access road.

Sort:  

Right on man. Glad to see you flying that thing I need to get a car charger so that I can start charging my battery and getting more videos

Relaxing stuff :)

Perhaps not so when you are the pilot. I'm interested in getting hold of a drone, any tips/recommendations?

well I am pretty new to it myself and have only flown this one (DJI Mavic Mini) but I quite like it. It is super small (folded up could literally fit in a pocket) and so light it escapes most drone regulations that apply to heavier drones in many places. It has the 3 axis gimbal to stabilize the video. The main drawback compared to the more expensive drones is it "only" shoots 2k video instead of 4k. It also doesn't have as many automatic flight mode options (for instance it can't follow you automatically while you are moving).

They are so much fun to fly though mate you should definitely get one!

I like the idea of portable :)

The video quality is decent, and I guess arsing around with 4k is going to take more time, depending on the machine doing the editing.

Saying that, would you go for a 4k camera with extra flight features from the off, or start with something like this incase newb skills end up crashing it into the Mediterranean? :)

Yeah I would say something like this is definitely the way to go for your first drone. The price is really not too bad, even if later on you want to get a bigger better badder drone you won't feel like you wasted money because this is affordable and super portable.

Alright cheers, I shall have a look later today. Safe flights!

Wah you're so cool, but I already knew thaT*

DDamn, these places are so beautiful! Now I know I made a good choice adding them to my bucket list!

I was planning to get a Mavic Mini for myself too, but the pandemic strike really hard me and my financial situation so it has to wait for a while :(