My Quarantine Story: Atypical but interesting times

in OCD4 years ago

I already showed you a snapshot to my quarantine life: Uusimaa county - with Helsinki and my home city in it - is in lockdown with travel restrictions. The only affect of it for me though is that I just won't be seeing couple of my friends in a while who are staying in Tampere, outside the lockdown zone.

My massage school has been closed, and will be so until the end of May at least. The education has a good amount of theory and that's what we're focusing on now, but client work is on hold, though the teachers are looking into some special arrangements for some practical practice.

Many people are facing lay-offs and terminations even, but weirdly enough, the opportunity to work has increased with schoolroom teaching being on hold: the post still has to be delivered, so I saw the opportunity to go work back there. Though this time I'm only doing 6-hour-days of indoor work, three or so days a week, to balance the load with studying. I'm taking the opportunity to earn some extra while I can, because at worse the coronavirus can cause a big pockmark on the economy. Funny thing is that at Posti my principal chief - and another worker who she knew had some shoulder problems - became my first paying massage clients. Principal chief said that she wants me to come again at another time. Corona takes, corona gives.

This all is easier for me to bear, because I've had the chance to spend time with @rrusina to whom I've grown fond with. I'm actually spending more time at hers than at home. Works well though, since my dad is now at a lesser risk for getting infected with the virus. And when it comes to us, we are not in a big danger for being young and likely not too susceptible for the virus anyway.

When it comes to moving outside, I'm not being overly cautious, and I still see few friends of mine, who live within the quarantine zone, every now and then. Slowing down the virus is important, but it's a good thing to step outside for some fresh air and vitamin D, too.

On the initiative, by @theycallmedan, this post is based on, there was a question how covid-19 is affecting our lives, finances and whether we're coming out of this as a better person. My finances at least are going up, weirdly enough as I explained, but it also comes with having to manage time. I'm certainly trying to sleep well as to having the energy to do all daily things. Can't tell for sure whether I will become a "better person", I certainly hope so, but what I know is that I have a chance to strengthen a bond with someone I deeply care about.

All the pictures (except the first one) were taken in Porvoo where I visited with @rrusina on Saturday. Some people were still around taking in some fresh air on the sunny weather, restrictions on restaurants had just been applied, but one shop was giving takeaway food and coffee/tea.

Sort:  

Manually curated by EwkaW from the Qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

Short and sweet story!

Schools have been shut here too. Till the end of this month.

May seems like a long time! :)

Thank you :)

May seems like a long time! :)

I have company so it is not that bad :)