You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Hive, We need to get our shit together!

in OCD4 years ago

Thanks for the mention and for the post.

Funnily enough just today I woke up and decided to deactivate Facebook, Instagram, delete WhatsApp. I hope to eventually get rid of them entirely, as impractical as it seems at the moment.

The more I thought about it today, I realised there is a kind of spiritual energy exchange by being on Facebook, and it's hard for me to say exactly what I'm giving away by interacting with it. I see so many people on there who hate it, but don't know how to stop themselves from going back, myself included.

So I'm not sure if I'll be talking to people on old social media about Hive, but there are surely other ways.

In the Steem days, I only managed to get about 5 people on board, even though I have a lot of friends who are artists who would have clearly benefited from it monetarily... Perhaps some felt that getting money somehow cheapened their art, or they were just shy about sharing their creative process, and so on. Your advice about not shoving it down people's throats proves true time and time again.

Of course, two of the people I got on board dived into the community, @kennyskitchen and @bobaphet.

With Kenny, we made about $80 from a @paradise-paradox interview with him and decided to send it to him to help him on his travels. At first when I mentioned it he was like "cool, thanks" and then when I sent him the money he was like "wait, what?" That was enough to get him to jump on and start inviting all of his wild creative hippie friends onto the platform, forming @abundance.tribe and building all kinds of wealth.

With Bob, he was at a tough point financially, and he was also open-minded enough to look at a way of making money outside of just getting a job. He went on to be a huge part of the DTube community. He told me once he commented the author said "I can't believe @bobaphet is commenting on my post!"

So if I can glean some lessons from that, they'd probably be, invite the influential people who are hard-working and who can benefit from extra money. Seems like a tricky market to corner, but we can definitely see why there are so many Venezuelans on the site.

Thanks Zack.

Sort:  

See how much of an impact just two members can make? Kenny kept me here. For me, this place is where community meets sustainability (which for now means money). We have the ability to keep the community alive on discord so I may not have stayed without some kind of ongoing support for an extended period of time and Kenny fulfilled that for me and a lot of others.

Bob is a cool guy too and seems to really made a good connection with dtube.

I don't have the same problem with Facebook. Most of my old friends and IRL friends use it and don't love it but don't complain about it much either, for them it's just a very practical way to stay in touch with people. They are much more active offline anyway, but Facebook bridges the distance. For my friends it's kind of like all or none. It's gonna be really hard to bring over the first few but once I can get them, the rest will come.

One little thing I thought of that might make a big difference in the long run... I like to use Pixabay for images and I'm sure a lot of others do too.

If people aren't already commenting on the post saying "hey I used your image" and leaving a link, that's a great way to get creative people interested. Of course if we say "Hive is a way to make money!" they'll probably be skeptical, so maybe focus on getting them intrigued about what you've posted instead.

What gladdens my heart is knowing that some people in developing countries, are actually able to SURVIVE on Hive.

Parts of Africa have a mobile payments system. Get a cheap smartphone, begin posting about village life, and now Hive becomes a lifeline for a family.

I believe that is where the future growth will come from. The pittance that we see here, is feeding people all around the world.

Some of them are really amazing people too. I've made a bunch of friends from Nigeria and Venezuela just in passing and now Indonesia, through our language exchange community.

My passion for Hive comes from the potential for it to give opportunities to people in remote areas and artists/creators who don't want to work for big companies

glad to see you again here! I remember you.