You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Sorry, I'm No Longer 69ing! Finally Made It To Rep 70 & Some Advice to Newcomers

in OCD4 years ago

Lucky us veterans know what to look out for 😁. I feel for new people here tho could be easy to fall for a scam. Although it is much cleaner than when I joined back in 2018!

Yeah true those back when there was vote buying the rep meant less but now it is more organic like you say.

Keep up the good work!

Sort:  

Yeah that's the danger/worry isn't it? Scammers are everywhere and will look for an opportunity to pounce in any environment. The amount of emails and SMS I've had recently with things relating to Coronavirus is sickening. I know there's things like "online safety awareness month" that we have but should be an ongoing campaign.

Hmm, you've given me an idea to perhaps rewrite some of the Bluffer's Guide and remind folks how to stay safe online 😁

Yep as I always say ´where theres money to be made there will be scammers´.

Yeah I get things about the coronavirus often. Sadly I ignore them all because I know people will be using this as a chance to scam people.

That would be a good idea. I dont think we can remind people enough ho to keep safe online. If you are interested in scams then ´the perfect scam´ is a good podcast. Hosted by Frank Abigail the guy who invented alot of these scams

Nothing sad about that! Smart thing to do is to ignore them, anything unsolicited really is to be ignored.

Thanks for the tip about the podcast - funny how the ones who came up with the scams are now turning educators against things they used to create... but then I guess, who better to combat scams than someone who's done it before?!