ENGAGE ON HIVE: One of my hobbies

in OCD4 years ago


This post can also be read in Portuguese



Hi guys!

I am going to share with you one of the things that I usually spend a good time and even more in this period of quarantine, I really like taking care of my garden and orchard that I have here in my backyard. And that "liking" came a little late for me, it was not something that encouraged me since I was a child but that at the end of my youth I realized the taste of planting.

My family says that I inherited this taste for plants from my grandmother who already left us on this earthly plane. My mom also likes it and maybe she has a little bit of genetics. In the beginning it is always a bit difficult, because it is not just taking the earth, the pot and placing the seed and letting time do its part ... Well, it is nothing like that and time made me want to always learn more about the care that I would have to have in my plants.

I find the things that our Creator left us incredible, something like a simple fruit having several seeds that can become several other trees and thus have an abundance of fruits. The experience of you reaping what you sow is very satisfying and whoever has done it knows what I say.

I always wanted to grow strawberries and where I lived it was very hot practically all year and the strawberry has its time when it needs to be in cold environments, something that would not be impossible to plant at home, but it would be quite difficult. It was then that I moved and I'm living in another place for about a year and a half now and here I am able to realize one of those dreams that is to grow strawberries. My kids love it and my youngest in the morning always looks for fresh and ripe strawberries.


SAVE_20200527_115326.jpg


SAVE_20200527_153007.jpg


SAVE_20200527_153032.jpg

Also through plants I learned about the importance of sustainability in our lives. Every day several pieces of organic food are thrown away for example and could be reused as fertilizer for plants. I usually get banana peel, egg peel, coffee grounds. Here we make sugar-free coffee, so it's easier to use, because with sugar it can attract ants and that's a problem.

And those I mentioned are the basic ones to balance the fertilizer that will become good land for planting. We can also use vegetable peels, bone meal (chicken bones, cattle and burning to become a powder), dried leaves and much more. All of these things provide necessary nutrients like nitrogen, phosphorus, calcium and potassium. The worms that help in the decomposition process love it a lot and look at the size of mine that I create. Whoever has earthworms in their garden has life!


SAVE_20200527_115344.jpg

Planting is a good therapy also for those who are very anxious about something, because every day has something to do since pruning the plants and pollinating a flower manually. Just like the strawberry I mentioned above, I tried to plant passion fruit in my backyard in the old house, it worked but never gave a flower and no fruit, my children are very fond of passion fruit and today we happily have three pots that are starting to put your first flowers. I also planted cherry tomatoes here once and it was very rewarding, since it yielded a harvest of more than 200 tomatoes.


SAVE_20200527_115408.jpg

We have blackberries, jabuticaba, melon, pineapple, raspberry, cherry, orange and I don't know if I'm forgetting any of the orchard. For vegetables we also have several such as chives, green scent (coriander), lettuce, cabbage, chicory and also other medicinal herbs. Everything in the yard and I don't consider it a big place. My wife is already telling me that I turned our house into a forest lol.


SAVE_20200527_115313.jpg


SAVE_20200527_115215.jpg

Well, I have other hobbies too, but I wanted to show you a little of what I do and what I really like is taking care of my plants. Whoever thinks about starting, I give all the support and I'm sure that you won't regret it and there is no small place, every place can find a way to grow anything you like. And if you also plant something, leave in the comments what you have there in your home, farm, ranch? See you!


nPWPNPL.png


Versão em português

Vou compartilhar com vocês uma das coisas que costumo passar um bom tempo e ainda mais nesse período de quarentena, eu gosto muito de cuidar da minha horta e pomar que tenho aqui no quintal de casa. E esse "gostar" veio meio tarde para mim, não foi algo que me incentivaram desde criança mas que no fim da minha juventude percebei o gosto de plantar.

Meus familiares dizem que eu herdei esse gosto por plantas pela minha avó que já nos deixou desse plano terreno. Minha Mãe também gosta e talvez tenha sim um pouco de genética. No começo sempre é algo meio difícil, pois não é simplesmente pegar a terra, o vaso e colocar a semente e deixar o tempo fazer a parte dele... Bem, não é nada disso e o tempo me fez querer sempre aprender mais sobre o cuidado que teria que ter em minhas plantas.

Acho incrível as coisas que o nosso Criador nos deixou, algo como uma simples fruta possuir várias sementes que podem se tornar outras várias árvores e assim ter abundância de frutas. A experiência de você colher o que planta é algo muito satisfatório e quem já fez isso sabe muito bem o que digo.

Sempre tive vontade de cultivar morangos e onde morava era muito quente praticamente o ano todo e o morango tem sua época em que precisa ficar em abientes frios, coisa que não seria impossível de plantar em casa, mas seria bastante difícil. Foi então que me mudei e estou morando em outro lugar mais ou menos 1 ano e meio já e aqui consigo realizar um desses sonhos que é cultivar os morangos. Meus filhos adoram e meu caçula pela manhã sempre procura se tem morangos frescos e maduros.

Também através das plantas aprendi sobre a importância da sustentabilidade em nossa vida. Todos os dias vários restos de alimentos orgânicos por exemplo são jogados fora e que poderiam ser reutilizados como adubo para as plantas. Eu costumo pegar casca de banana, casca de ovos, a borra do café. Aqui fazemos o café sem açúcar, daí fica mais fácil de usar, pois com açúcar pode atrair as formigas e isso é problema.

E esses que citei são os básicos para equilibrar o adubo que virará uma boa terra para se plantar. Podemos usar também cascas de vegetais , farinha de ossos (ossos de galinha, gado e queima para virar um pó), folhas secas e muito mais. Todas essas coisas dão nutrientes necessários como nitrogênio, fósforo, cálcio e potássio. As minhocas que ajudam no processo de decomposição adoram muito e olhem o tamanho das minhas que eu crio. Quem tem minhoca em sua horta tem vida!

Plantar é uma boa terapia também para quem está muito ansioso para alguma coisa, pois todo dia tem alguma coisa a se fazer desde podar as plantas e polinizar de forma manual alguma flor. Assim como o morango que citei acima, eu tentei plantar maracujá no meu quintal na antiga casa, deu até certo mas nunca dava um flor sequer e nada de fruta, meus filhos gostam muito de maracujá e hoje felizmente temos três vasos que estão começando a colocar suas primeiras flores.

Temos amoras, jabuticaba, melão, abacaxi, framboesa, cereja, laranja e não sei se estou esquecendo de alguma do pomar. Para as hortaliças temos várias também como cebolinha, cheiro-verde (coentro), alface, couve, chicória e também outras ervas medicinais. Tudo no quintal e não considero um lugar grande. Minha esposa já fica me dizendo que tranformei a nossa casa numa floresta lol.

Bem, temho outros hobbies também, mas queria mostrar um pouco do que faço e que gosto muito que é cuidar de minhas plantas. Quem pensa em começar eu dou todo apoio e tenho certeza de que não vai se arrepender e não existe lugar pequeno, todo lugar pode dá um jeito para cultivar qualquer coisa que goste. E se também planta alguma coisa, deixe aqui nos comentários o que você tem aí em sua casa, fazenda, rancho? Até mais!


1551887833762.png

Thanks for reading so far. If you liked it, give that strength with your upvote and rate me. Feel free to leave a comment .Thanks guys!

1551887833762.png


As9cYgq - Imgur.png


1589747455648.png

Lusophone Community Projects

@brazilians | @brazine | @camoes | @coiotes | @imagemvirtual | @msp-brasil | ptgram | @steemitportugal |

Sort:  

This post is shared to Twitter in support of @ocd and @ocdb's #posh initiative.

Parabéns, seu post foi selecionado pelo projeto Brazilian Power, cuja meta é incentivar a criação de mais conteúdo de qualidade, conectando a comunidade brasileira e melhorando as recompensas, obrigado!

footer-comentarios-2.jpg

Hi there and thank you for a really cool entry to the posting initiative. I appreciate you taking the time to write the post and that you have also followed the entry criteria. I wish you all the best with your entry and hope that you will continue to create great posts like this for hive in the future.

Thank you! When we do it with love, things become easier. See you.

I don't mind seeing them, but I can't bring myself to touching earthworms

I understand, but in my case I have to move things to work in the garden. It is normal not to want to catch them. There are people who don't really like it and there's no problem with that.

MORANGOS!!!

Olha lá, os piá tudo crescendo e dando uma de jardineiros, haha! Que legal! :D

E crescem rápido mano... Pelo menos a quarentena tá fazendo eu acompanhar melhor o crescimento deles. Valeu!