You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Abuzz in the bonnet

in OCD4 years ago

Narcissism is really a serious condition. Very hard to spot. Especially the covert ones.

I order a lot of books in English for my daily reading as well. When I was a child I used to watch a lot of Discovery and Animal Planet and National Geographic. I own no TV for years and only watch english materials, in movies, documentaries, articles etc. Maybe this added up. I still feel I have a lot to learn. Must acquire a dictionary and learn new words.

Yes, I am Romanian. I strangely feel like I am rather not romanian, regarding my personality and how I see things. An alien lol. As a post communistic country, you would have to visit it and stay for a while to get to know the typical romanian. Then... You would get what I mean.

Sort:  

I wish I had spent time learning Finnish when I arrived here, but it wasn't overly encouraged or necessary, so I didn't. Shame - as my daughter is dual mother tongue. Well, a dictionary won't help you that much, but engaging will - have you heard about Asher's Engagement League ;D

I know a few Romanians here, but I am guessing that the people who are traveling out of their own country aren't the typical local. I have heard it is a beautiful country and would love to visit one day. I am not a fan of vampires though, so not sure if it is my kind of place.

Oh Asher.... Engagement League.. Sounds familiar🤔😂😂

Ah the vampire myths. Not so much in here though. It is a very beautiful country, you would like it. The romanian who travelled abroad are a bit more open minded than those who are born & made in Romania lol and still living here. With a couple of exceptions. It has been 30 years since communism collapsed, but the mental consequences are still being felt even today

It has been 30 years since communism collapsed, but the mental consequences are still being felt even today

I think it will take a few more generations to move the sentiment completely, but to what, who knows these days.

Oh the old generations is keep perpetuating a wrong model of education, giving their children the same concept of looking at life. Those children are now 30 -40 years old and spread it to their future children. I assume it will wash away so slowly, like a stain of ink from a white cloth. I wonder how to replace that cloth without throwing the baby out of the water. This is an old wound of Romania, the old mentality filled with ghosts of the past

I think there are many suffering similar wounds. Finland still is largely driven by fear of Russia attacking, with billions spent to make people feel safe - but it doesn't actually add security.

Ohh this need for security sounds like the perfect excuse for authorities to do all sorts of stuff. Including spending lots of money. Pretty convenient