Follow Up | Follow Through | Follow the Rules

in OCD2 years ago

D302D8AA-E723-49A4-94EF-51B567506B89.png

We see it all the time. Someone reaches out for help and understanding whether to get better supported or to avoid flags and mutes.

We take the time to guide them on the ways of Hive and how to be successful here in hopes that they’ll listen and take heed to what’s been shared.

We later see this person commit the same type of behavior and act on the very same habits as if we never shared any valuable information with them.

What’s happening with this?

Well, we can only go so far with our helping hand, they are the ones that must take the actually steps. Listening and doing are two different things and it takes a doer to achieve improvement. A doer seeks out further to make sure they fully understand to do better and avoid making the same mistakes.

If you went to a store that did not allow you to smoke cigarettes once entering the building but you did so anyway, the people managing that store will give you a warning to put out your cigarette. In doing so they will remind you of their policy. If you ignore those rules and keep entering their store with a lit cigarette eventually you will get banned.

How many times should one be allowed to disregard the rules? How many warnings does it take for someone to listen and get their act together?

Whether you have been warned about plagiarism, spamming the comment section, posting your content in the wrong communities, using the wrong tags, failing to cite sources, double posting to milk rewards, unnecessary tagging of whales and leaders in your posts or DMing leaders demanding more support (the list goes on and on) it’s up to you to reverse this behavior and take the advice from those trying to steer you in the right direction.

You can’t play the I didn’t know card after being told more than once about what you’re doing.

Trust me, there’s some curators here that spend a lot of time investigating, finding patterns in behaviors and tracking them. Collectively we’re working together to make Hive great and stop various types of abuse.

After doing this for so long it’s easy for us to see the one’s who are just here for monetary purposes and could care less about any given rules or guidelines compared to the ones that are here for the long haul and want to help build up this ecosystem.

If you are in the latter group I invite you to keep reading.

Follow Up

0F0916F8-8A02-470E-9B45-D298EBFAD02C.png

When a mod, curator or leader gives you helpful tips and guidance please just don’t say

Thanks, I’ll keep that in mind.

This statement tells us you’re putting it at the back of your thoughts with intentions on continuing what you’re doing. Rules aren’t meant to be optional but were put in place for you to follow for a reason. We see this type of response a lot when it comes to communities.

When I see a response like…

Thank you so much I was not aware but will remember this for my next post.

OR

I wasn’t aware this was looked down upon, thanks so much for the heads up.

AND

I appreciate your guidance as it helps newbies like me to better understand.

it shows me that this person cares to know what’s acceptable and wants to have a smooth and successful ride.

When given helpful information don’t just sit on it but look further into it.

• Check out any links that were given and read the literature to be more clear on instructions.

• Research by digging into other posts that will also be helpful in your comprehension.

• Ask your onboarder questions or anyone you feel comfortable with asking that could help you get a better grasp of things.

• Follow up by looking more into how things are done to avoid making the same mistakes and getting on the suspicious list. 🤨

Follow Through

Once you’ve followed up take what you’ve learned and put it into action. This is a very crucial part as it’s a determining factor in whether people decide to support you or not.

For instance, when curating for OCD we give people up to two warnings. We comment on their posts suggesting which communities best suite their content explaining the importance of getting familiar with them. If they choose to ignore our comments and not follow through with what we’ve shared, their post gets muted in the community by the third time.

This is not someone that’s going to attract good attention or potential supporters of their blogs. Most people I know who have been around here for awhile take the time to do a research, whether mild or extensive, on a person before choosing to support them. If you’ve been muted, flagged or marked as a spammer this will show up and be a huge turnoff.

Why would anyone want to risk that happening, especially those who are seeking better support? 🤔🤷🏽‍♀️

It’s as simple as making the effort to avoid being put on those lists. Take the steps to change your actions, put into play what you’ve been made aware of and avoid ruining your chances of making a good impression.

Follow the Rules

4175BE5B-5FED-4F28-998A-804D28641AD4.png

Three easy steps right? Well, you would think so but for some it’s not that easy.

Not everyone takes correction well and may see it as absurd to be told how to govern themselves on Hive. Unfortunately for them, for the past six years this platform has been developing into a place of high standards.

Not just anything goes.

One can’t compare it to other social sites and use what’s allowed there to justify what they do here. People have worked hard behind the scenes developing this platform where quality is encouraged, supported and rewarded; where tools have been set in place to reduce abuse and keep scammers at bay.

So don’t be surprised when people speak up and call you out on something that is unhealthy practice. It’s part of maintaining and protecting what we consider to be of value. Just take it as a friendly gesture. 😊

After surfing awhile and reading through enough content, one can began to see and understand the way quality is measured and the level of standard surrounding Hive. It truly has been setup to be a place of excellence where one can excel in many things by learning from others and given the opportunity to put their skills to work.

Please be mindful of your actions and follow the guidelines given when coming across communities, initiatives, contests etc.

Adhere to the way of the Hive. 😆

I’m not sure how this post will be perceived but my intentions are always to be straight forward and say what I feel needs to be said.

It may seem elementary but you’d be surprised how many people really don’t think about these things until it’s too late.

Following up, following through and following the rules can help one to have a smooth cruise on Hive rather than a bumpy ride.

I hope this post reaches who it needs to whether it be a wake up call or reminder.

All photos are my own and were taken with our Cannon EOS Rebel T6.


Thanks For Your Attention ~

Sort:  

It is absolutely true what you explain that every institution, or community, of course has rules to be obeyed by all employees or members in it and this also applies to the Hive platform.

Your explanation of the basic rules is very detailed for a beginner in Hive, and I personally still remember that I once replied to comments with you on a topic that is almost the same as today's topic. And at that time, you taught me a lot of basic things that must be known in this Hive for a beginner. And I have implemented all of your suggestions @crosheille. Currently I only focus on 2-3 communities on Hive that match my talents, interests and abilities. Thank you very much my friend 🙏

 2 years ago  

Hi @abizahid. Yes, I remember speaking with you on several occasions and I'm glad to know you have taken my advice. I see that you have been posting regularly, commenting and supporting others and doing well. Keep up the great work ;)

I appreciate your comment as it confirms that what I share is helpful for beginners; which is the reason I share info like this ever so often.

Thanks again for your comment and visit and I’m glad to see you’re doing well here ~

Yes, that's right, and what I did was all on the advice and advice of you. Focus on uploading content to 2-3 communities and try to be consistent there, then try to be actively involved in them by supporting each other and commenting. I have implemented all of your suggestions to this day.

To be honest, in my area in Aceh-Indonesia, there are a lot of Hivers who are active in Hives, but generally they are the same as me, only self-taught and still very new to Hives. because since I joined this Hive platform, I don't have a teacher who teaches me in detail about Hive.

Thank you very much for your knowledge and advice @crosheille, I'm glad to have known you here at Hive 🤝🙏

 2 years ago  

Wow that is so awesome!! That’s exactly what we talked about. Good for you @abizahid :D

That is something we are trying to change by consistently uploading helpful and guiding content. Do your friends know about the @newbies-guide? We’ll be updating and adding more info there soon too. Oh and a more recent post done about Communities would be good for one to learn about posting in them ;)

Yes personally I know about @newbies-guide, weren't you the one who introduced it to me first 🙏😊

but it looks like the account hasn't posted anything on the blog for a long time..

Thank you very much for your kind words and motivation for me my best friend @crosheille 🤝

 2 years ago  

Okay I figured you did. I am always suggesting things to people and I lose track of who I told what to. 😄

Yes, we haven't updated the collection in a long while but plan on doing so soon. 😉

Hmmm advice are precious and are to be obeyed, especially when it is from the right person. I used to post in the wrong community some times ago but when corrected I change my ways. I am here to stay and will listen to all you advices. Well done and thanks for sharing.

 2 years ago  

I'm glad to hear this @shamzy. It is precious when someone takes the time to point you in the right direction, I'm glad you value that :)

Thanks for reading ~

It’s my pleasure

I seriously don't understand why people do not take the advice seriously. While guiding newbies on Hive I came across people who took a whole lot of my time and then I found them asking the same questions again o other servers. Still they didn’t appear following the guidelines. It is pretty annoying......

It is never wrong to make a mistake. What is wrong is to not make the mistake after being guided. I hope people would understand this...

 2 years ago  

I have experienced that as well. There could be several reasons why they do that but one I'm guessing is to try to get around the rules or see if there are other ways to go about doing things. Especially when they don't like what's suggested of them to do.

It is never wrong to make a mistake. What is wrong is to not make the mistake after being guided.

This exactly 👆🏽! Thanks for your comment ~

I'm guessing is to try to get around the rules or see if there are other ways to go about doing things

Hahaha. Hilarious but true

 2 years ago  

Lol yep!

This made me remember a mistake that I made. I love being corrected when I am wrong and promised myself never to make the same mistake again. Indeed, rules are not meant to be optional but were put in place to be followed. I am glad I came across this post/blog of yours, I can use this to make myself better in using the platform going forward. From the bottom of my heart, Thank You!

 2 years ago  

I'm the same way @afterglow. I like being corrected so that I won't keep doing the same things wrong over and over again.

Thanks for reading. I'm glad this was helpful to you :)

You're welcome, I am glad the community has you. Have a nice day ahead (^_^)

 2 years ago  

☺️☺️☺️

You have a nice day as well and enjoy your weekend ~

I've always loved to see these sorts of post and I even love it more when oldbies leaves an advice on my content, it gives me the feel that I'm not alone and that people are always ready to render their help. And I always try to improve on the aspect I'm corrected on.

You have just given me more ideas and more knowledge on how to give my best to this amazing ecosystem and I really do hope to learn more from you and many others as well.

You did really well thinking about everyone while coming up with this content, that's so sweet of you 🤗.

 2 years ago  

I'm glad you get that feel here. There are quite a few people always willing to help and share important info. We all want to see Hive do well and expand so it’s apparent to help each other. 😉

It’s my pleasure as I want to see everyone do well. Glad I could help add a bit more information to your Hive knowledge. 😊

You're are right, I'm so glad you are part of the few, they are really rare to find.

 2 years ago  

☺️ Thanks!

🤗❤️.

this is a motivation for me and my friends, after I read and understand this article, I have increased knowledge about hives.
thank you for providing encouragement and a way to move forward in hive. especially for me this information is very valuable. thanks @crosheille

 2 years ago  

I'm glad this article was helpful in increasing your knowledge @asklanbudi ;)

Thanks for taking the time to read.

I really appreciate your effort putting us through the right path to follow for us to avoid being muted. I enjoy reading through and it full with point. I have taken your advice and I will make sure I follow them. Thanks for sharing such a nice post with us

 2 years ago  

No problem at all @mosesessien. I appreciate you taking the time to read and take in the advice ;)

A lot of organizations also have rules and regulations that when maintained by the members, everyone rides smoothly and the same applies to the hive blockchain with rules and regulations that govern it.

I have been here for some months now and I wouldn't want to have a bumpy ride, however, this is a wake-up call for me to always read about community rules and be sure to post in the right community. I made a post a few minutes ago in OCD community and I am beginning to understand that I got it wrong after reading this content and visiting the OCD rules.

Thank you so much ma for this guidance, I promise to be more alert to the rules and also to inform my friends as well!

 2 years ago  

Thanks for your comment @nkemakonam89.

I'm glad to know this served as a wake up call and that you at least want to make sure you are making the right choices when on Hive. I want you to have a smooth ride here for sure.

Here is a post that was recently made to help guide newbies on understanding communities and how to post in the appropriate ones ;)

Please reach out if you ever have any questions or doubts about something ~

Wow, I visited the post link you sent and it's packed with lots of knowledge about the subject matter .
Thank you so much for always guiding us rightly here 👌
Much appreciated 🤗

 2 years ago  

You’re welcome. I knew you would find it helpful. Erikah did an amazing job putting it together. I'm glad you took the time to read it. 😉

That's why I am really thankful if someone commented in my post and guide me of what to do. And the first one who guided me and gave me words was @erikah , I really appreciate her for giving me tips of what to do especially about the cross posting and many more.

For curators like you both, I really appreciate how you welcome newbies and of how you guide us of what to do. 🤗

 2 years ago  

I’m glad you’re thankful for the guidance and appreciate the comments left on your posts.

Thank you for your comment ~ 😊

Learned and understood a lot by reading this article. This is very important information for me. Thank you so much for giving the hive a way to move forward.

 2 years ago  

So happy to hear that and glad you took the time, thank you.

The hive blockchain is a lovely place to be when following rules and regulations of the platform most especially when a community have it own rules to follow will really help in maintaining the stay in the blockchain.

But it wouldn't be nice avoiding such rules just to aim for the financial means alone which is definitely not appropriate.

 2 years ago  

Absolutely so. One could have a really great experience here if they acknowledge that.

Thanks for adding your input ~

It's a pleasure and thanks for sharing to enlighten others with the rightful information

 2 years ago  

Always a pleasure to ;)

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @hopestylist.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more


Congratulations @crosheille!
You raised your level and are now a Dolphin!

 2 years ago  

Oh how I wish this was true!! 🥹

Unfortunately I had to do a few powerdowns and that changed my numbers. I guess the tracker doesn’t account for that but I am definitely not at 10,000 HP yet.

The dolphin level is at 10 million VESTS, which is approximately 5494 HP according to @arcange latest stats post (see section 8 - distribution). Therefore, a dolphin you are! 🎉

 2 years ago  

Well SWEET!! I was wrong about the numbers then. Wow thank you so much for the correction and the congratulations! 😃🤩🥳☺️

Congratulations on becoming a Dolphin @crosheille 🎉🎉🎉

 2 years ago  

Thanks so much @arcange! I'm glad to have made it to this level!! 😊

This is helpful to me boss and I'm always grateful to have you as a mentor on the Hive platform. I must confess, when I started new on the platform, I never understood any rules not until when I joined the NeedleWorkMonday community.