dCity - Week 6: Immigration and Weed

in OCD4 years ago

dcity_npe6.jpg

Last week I said I would be back with an update on my dCity town if something interesting happened. And well, I can't exactly say that the past week was overly interesting, there have been some changes to my little burg.

Election and Taxes

My favorite subjects!

@xxxxxxxxxx was elected as President again -- second term in a row. And to his credit, after having an initial tax rate of 46%, he has scaled it back and kept the overall rate between 26 - 36%, swapping out which taxes are in effect every few days. Still a significant hit for me, especially when several of the tax benefits do nothing at all.

Speaking of tax benefits, my Job Center has continued to remain completely useless, despite the job tax being on the entire time I've owned it!

Immigration

I had a sudden influx of migrants last week. Two more Immigrants (each adding two population) arrived, pushing my total population up to 45.

With my jobless population growing, and my Job Center continuing to do nothin, I decided it was time to invest in a new business to give my new population something to do. I had considered adding another Weed Farm, but the prices were beyond my budget and I was determined to not invest any more Hive. So I settled for a Weed Dispensary instead.

weed_dispensary.jpg

The Workers required for the Dispensary happened to perfectly sync up with my excess population, so it seemed a good fit (thematically as well). The extra income is nice (though of course, I'm not getting that full 10 SIM), and it also allows me to trigger a special 'WEED fest' event. Unfortunately, it requires 75 WEED tokens, and I have only pulled in just under 7 over the past 6 weeks.

dcity_overview6.jpg

dcity_dash6.jpg

That's it for this week! Still just planning on running this as a very passive game.

I do wish we could see the post election totals somewhere in-game. During the voting period, you can see who voted and how much voting power they have, but afterwards, all that information vanishes.

It's pretty obvious that a small sub-section of the playerbase has the majority of the voting power (I'll try to get a screenshot next time around). Whether this will lead to a traditional good-ole-boy system patting itself on the back remains to be seen!

Until next time!