You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Ulterior Motive & Juicy Details

in OCD3 years ago

Looks like you zipped right through to 70. I took that 7 month break from the platform and had a real slow return. Just seems a lot tougher. I guess 0.14 rep out of a post from my current position needs about a 20 dollar value.

Three 8's should do it.

Sort:  

Hey, @dandays.

I kind of disappeared myself, too, from July through the end of November. I was around, just not posting or doing much more than reading.

It really depends on who has you on autovote and/or whether or not your content is picked up by one of the bigger curation trails. While that's more or less been true since I've been here, it's more true than ever. With the autovote, I see enough fluctuation from post to post that it's tough to rely on very many of them to vote on my posts every time. There are a few, but that's it. Which is fine. I do all manual curation and would rather others did, too, but I understand why many of them do it (not enough time to manually curate everyone and wanting to reward authors who regularly produced their idea of quality content is the most understandable reason, while trying to maximize curation profits and spread their votes out as far as possible is the other).

I think I've been through about four or five waves of folks I've tried to keep tabs on and correspond with. My being away was mostly because of being back to work, but it was more of a snowball effect in that I was already starting to burnout, and having less time to be on HIVE basically ended up being I didn't try to post or comment or do a whole lot of upvoting, even though I probably could have managed at least one post a week had I felt like it.

But not being able to hold onto more than a handful of folks through any given wave has taken its toll, too. I'm not inclined to go out and look for more people to follow or to read their stuff anyway—just not that kind of people person, and so when I have done it, only for the majority to disappear or move to some other part of HIVE (like the games) where I won't be following, it's just been tougher to try to build up again.

Which of course, effects how high my rep is going to go on any given post. I can honestly range from 50 or so votes beyond 600 depending on whether a curation trail shows up, but it might only be enough to push the post HTU amount into double digits, which as you've noted, doesn't move the meter much.

Same. I dropped off too. 2020 just drained me. I’m back! Glad ya’ll are back too🤟

Hey, @geneeverett.

Well, thank you. You, too. We could probably stand to have another 500,000 or so other account holders return, as well. Get this place hopping again.

I appreciate this comment. Especially this part.

(not enough time to manually curate everyone and wanting to reward authors who regularly produced their idea of quality content is the most understandable reason, while trying to maximize curation profits and spread their votes out as far as possible is the other).

Couldn't have said it better myself. I'm glad you chose to keep an eye on me, Glen, it's a pleasure tailing you as well.

You know what? I've only been here a few months longer than you and, in that time, I've never been the recipient of a single whale autofire vote. It's all of your individual appreciation that has my in the position I'm in. More to come—promise!