You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The End of Engagement on Steem?

in OCD4 years ago

It will be sad to see the end of The EL, which has long been my favorite piece of "staple" content in the Steemosphere. But I also well understand your need to take a break from it...

I'm one of the many who'll be migrating to HIVE — at least the bulk of my activity. Unlike many, I will not be "dumping" my Steem. Instead, I'm taking a more risky approach of powering down and waiting to exit till one of those (I believe inevitable) moments where JS & Co. will initiate a massive pump as part of their exit stategy... I will try to ride that "wave" out, and then put the proceeds to work at HIVE. My experience has been that too much "monkey see, monkey do" behavior leads to everyone losing.

I'm going to play that one softly... but then, I don't have a huge stake to worry about.

I'd take that ibuprofen warning with a grain of salt. One of Mrs. Denmarkguy's close friends is a Biochemist at MIT and they are working around the clock. So far, the best things you can do are preventive. So far, what they've determined is that Vitamin C and Melatonin (a natural sleep cycle stabilizer) makes people less attractive hosts for COVID-19. This is not "released" information because people will overdo it and excessive doses are a health hazard.

Ultraviolet light kills the virus, but can't really be used on humans... BUT, in the same way as the above can be preventive, going outside on a sunny day and getting adequate vitamin D, can give you a slight edge.

We're in Washington State which also happens to be where Patient Zero in the US was found, and it remains the most heavily impacted corner of the US. Everything except pharmacies and supermarkets are closed; only restaurants with take away service are allowed to stay open.

Stay safe over there... these are uncertain times.

Sort:  

Thank you for the kind words @denmarkguy :) I has a similar comment today on Discord and these comments are truly appreciated.

I will not be "dumping" my Steem. Instead, I'm taking a more risky approach of powering down and waiting to exit till one of those (I believe inevitable) moments where JS & Co. will initiate a massive pump as part of their exit stategy
I have exactly the same idea in mind too, as I have little to try to dump before the likely mass offloading that will happen tomorrow.

Thank for the not about Ibruprofen, I do take a vitamin tablet and a little vitamin D in the duller months and so hope my immune system is in good shape should the worst happen.

This does look rather worrying from your part of the world:

image.png

All the best to you and yours.