You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Blocked: Censorship Resistance & Why Blocking On Social Media Needs To Stop

in OCD4 years ago

Three things:

    1. Nobody understands the word FREEDOM they think they do but they actually don't. Most tend to see it as a "Get out of jail free" card that's played when they've said or done something that antagonises someone else. The favourite statement being: "Freedom of Speach".
    2. But that leads us nicely on to the second item, people only believe in their version of Freedom or in a lot of cases "You're free to do whatever you like within certain guidelines" so how is that Freedom then? You can't say I'm free to come and go as I please and yet refuse to give me a key to the door and why is the door locked anyway if people can come and go as they please?
    3. Nobody really wants or likes Freedom, seriously, they don't because if there was true freedom there'd be total mayhem on a daily basis. People would literally be able to do whatever they liked and some people can think up some right funky stuff let alone shooting one another for "Looking at me in a funny way!"

I think there's a case for blocking people if it's only for your own sanity. I went for years not blocking or muting people telling myself that by blocking people, even though they were making my life hell, I was being a hypocrite to the views I held on Freedom in that by the very act of muting someone I was in fact censoring them until finally after a few years I decided "Why am I putting up with this sh..?" so far across all my social media accounts I think I've blocked or muted about 10 people. I haven't blocked anyone on Hive so that might say something?


"If you don't have enough power or Crypto to upvote me; reshare me instead. Reshares are worth their weight in gold!"

Don't forget, you can upvote peoples comments too!